Joy Journal

Because it’s never a bad time to count the things that make you happy, here are some of the things giving me joy presently.

  • Blogging. Yes, I’m still constantly nervous about running out of ideas, but it’s so fun to write something new every day and to go around checking everyone’s blogs for new entries.
  • Work. I’ve moved on from training to writing audio description for a new Netflix series all by myself, which I’ve gotten some good feedback from the higher-ups for, so I’m pleased with how that’s going.
  • Reading. I’m managing about a book a month so far, which I’m happy about, even if I don’t have a book club to discuss with afterwards. (I’m currently reading Slaughterhouse Five, and plan to scour the internet for thinkpieces afterwards.) Also, looking at my to-read list on Goodreads gives me pre-emptive excitement for all the good books yet to come. So many books, so little time!
  • Flowers. I don’t know why I didn’t expect to find much roadside greenery in India, but Bangalore has been providing me with some gorgeous, colourful floral visuals that have been making my heart bloom.
  • Friends. I find it heartwarming that even though I’ve moved away from Singapore, so many of my friends have actively tried to keep in touch, either through Whatsapp groups or Skype chats. It’s nice to know that distance doesn’t break strong bonds. It’s also been nice getting to hang out with the people here – old friends with whom it barely feels like time has passed, and cousins with whom the friend/family line is blurred just the perfect amount.
  • My shows. You know, you’d think that watching movies and TV shows all day as part of my job would sour me on this a little, but nope. I still enjoy catching up with my fictional characters, and that feeling of anticipation for certain shows on certain days of the week, though not as strong as before, still makes me happy. Also, there’s so much good stuff coming out soon. We’re truly living in the golden age of television.
  • The radio. I’ve found a station here that I can listen to on the way to and back from work that plays both songs I know and a lot of older stuff that I wouldn’t normally listen to, so I’m really appreciating the new diversity in the music I’m listening to.
  • Household chores. I KNOW. I’m really enjoying taking care of the house while my parents are away, from putting the dishes back after they’re washed, to buying and restocking produce and groceries, to washing floor mats and changing bedcovers, to paying the bills. You know you’re getting old when you really get a kick out of doing mundane things. That said, though…
  • The thought of the parentals coming back this weekend. If you’re reading this, Mom and Dad, be warned – there will be hugs.

And since we’ve invoked Kurt Vonnegut in this post, I’ll leave you with a timely quote I found:

“I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”

6 thoughts on “Joy Journal

  1. Sayesha April 15, 2017 / 1:24 pm

    Beautiful post. 🙂 You know, most of the time I’m like, “Yeah let her enjoy her life in B’lore as long she moves right back next year”, and then I read something like this and go, “Oh my gosh, she’s actually settling down there…” I have such mixed feelings. :O

    • Clueless April 16, 2017 / 2:26 pm

      Well, if it helps, I have very mixed feelings about the whole thing too! 😓

  2. peeves April 12, 2017 / 7:30 pm

    Love love love this!

Leave a Reply

