Z is for Zapped

OMG, you guys, I made it! OK, just barely, but I’m here! It’s done! I feel like someone who’s finished a marathon (and come in last). And, as you can probably guess from the title, I’m exhausted.

It’s been a whirlwind of a challenge this time around, and a small part of me can’t believe a whole month has gone by. It doesn’t feel so long ago that I suddenly realised it was April and jumped head-first into the challenge, without having thought out any of my posts in advance. Now, that’s not too different from how I usually do the challenge, but I’m at least mulling beforehand, a step I skipped this time, which proved to be near disastrous. I managed to do things on the fly for the most part, before completely dropping the ball in the last (and, to be fair, hardest) week. And now I’ve sprinted through six posts in two days, and, whew, I need a minute (or bajillion) to catch my breath.

As always, I’m glad I had friends doing the challenge with me – it’s always fun to have people to brainstorm about topics over, even if it is usually to the tune of “OMG I have nothing to write for tomorrow HALLLLP MEEEEE”. That is an exaggeration, of course – I was rarely planning things the day before. At best, I would write my post for the day after I’d come home from work, and at worst… well, let’s just say my biggest lapse was three days, which doesn’t seem like a lot in retrospect, but felt like longer at the time, probably because all I was thinking all day was that I’d fallen behind, but had no idea how I was going to catch up.

On the whole, I’m probably happier with this year’s posts than any other’s, which is rather odd, I think, considering how many were done in a mad hurry. But, hey, there’s no predicting how creativity works – often, my least thought-out, fastest-written posts get the most praise from readers. A special shout-out to the non-bloggers in my life who had to endure me ranting about the challenge every day, and who tried to offer help whenever possible. Here’s to posts that were never written about xenophobia, excuses, zucchinis and thunder tea rice.

Even with help from others, most of the time, it wasn’t lack of time tripping me up as much as it was the lack of ideas. I feel like the challenge works great if you’re a regular blogger, because then you can just line up all the posts you were going to write anyway, and the task becomes more about finding an appropriate letter to fit each one. In my case, since this has become the only time I have to actively think about blogging, I have to consciously think of what to do for every single letter. In the future, I may experiment with a theme. At the end of every challenge, I end up feeling like there couldn’t be possibly anything more I could have left to say the following year, but maybe a themed effort will help assuage that particular fear.

As usual, I didn’t end up blog-hopping nearly as much as I wanted to. I didn’t put my name on the sign-up list in time, but I did click around a little, mostly when I was looking around for ideas for my own posts, but what I found made me curious to read more. I need to put blog-reading further up my leisure activities list – I know I’m missing a lot of good stuff by sticking to just the people/blogs I know!

At any rate, I hope this doesn’t mark the end of my blogging experience for the year. Whether it’s writing or just reading and getting ideas and inspiration, I hope I can make more time for it. I got to 200 posts with this challenge (and a grand 10 years after I started blogging, at that) – here’s hoping to 200 more in lesser time!

4 thoughts on “Z is for Zapped

  1. Sara May 2, 2016 / 12:53 am

    It is exhausting, rewarding, and something to celebrate. Congratulations! 🙂 Also congratulations on reaching your 200th post. That’s twice as many as I have. Anyway, keep writing!

    • Clueless May 2, 2016 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks, Sara! 😀 And, heh, 200 posts took a looooooong time, so I wouldn’t say it’s too big an achievement! 😛

  2. peeves May 1, 2016 / 10:05 am

    Congratulations!! I can see why you’re zapped: all your posts have been so well thought-out and articulate. Please don’t stop till April of next year!

    • Clueless May 1, 2016 / 10:15 am

      Aww, you’re sweet. I don’t know about well thought out (they were literally last minute), but the compliment is appreciated! 😀

      How’s your catch-up going?

Leave a Reply

