E is for Earrings

I’m not much of a jewellery person. In fact, I’m the kind of girl who takes the “less is more” attitude to an extreme. You know how there’s that common saying attributed to Coco Chanel that you should stand in front of a mirror after you get ready and take one thing off before you leave the house? I need the opposite advice – I often feel like I should be adding more things to myself, because I’m a serial under-dresser.

That’s not to say I don’t like accessories – I do. However, as attractive as they are, I have some pretty reasonable and practical reasons for avoiding them. One, it’s very, very hot in Singapore. Jewellery and sweat are not a great combination, and if you buy them cheap, like I do, there’s the additional risk of allergies and rashes when the two mix. Two, I’m fond of patterns and prints in clothing, and mixing a loud wardrobe with shiny jewellery really just feels like overkill to me. Third, while I know there are people who can make casual clothes like jeans and T-shirts work with jewellery, I am just not one of those people. And that’s why, even though I have a sizeable collection of assorted accessories sitting in my closet, it rarely ever sees the light of day.

That said, if there’s one type of accessory I freely embrace, it’s earrings. Studs, hoops, dangly ones, big and small – I’m fond of them all. They’re the least problematic kind of jewellery, they’re easy to coordinate with your clothes, and over the years, I’ve collected so many, I have an actual professional rotating earring stand to hold them all.

a60c6994-cb43-4121-bb21-61ad0a7f6d97

Those are just the dangly ones – the studs are in a separate box!

And the upside of being known for having a vast earring collection? Well, when my friends run out of birthday gift ideas, they don’t have to look very far for that back-up option.

2 thoughts on “E is for Earrings

Leave a Reply

