A is for April

*blows cobwebs away*

Hey, it’s April! Already! Doesn’t time fly? I still remember what the 1st of April used to signify, before it was replaced in my consciousness as the starting date of my yearly pilgrimage to Blogger Land. The end of March now routinely brings about a flurry of “Are you doing the A to Z challenge this year?” queries among the blogger buddies, and even though I have serious misgivings every year, it always ends the same way.

So, here I am, for the third year in a row, desperately clinging to this challenge as a way to keep up some semblance of writing as a hobby. I spent a lot of my youth thinking of myself as the “creative” type, something that started feeling more and more like an overestimation the older I grew. I like creativity, but I’m also quite daunted by it, and the thought of writing inspires mixed feelings these days. It’s not that I mind writing – rather, it’s the pressure of having to think of fun things to write about and/or make mundane things fun wherein the challenge lies. Well, life throws up an opportunity for me to flex those muscles a little every year (to whatever effect), so the least I can do is make use of it.

This challenge has also been a good way for me to track phases of my life. The first year I did it, I was unemployed with all the time in the world, the second year, I had just started working again and was basking in the glow of a relatively stress-free job. This year, I’m neck-deep in work – new people to train and manage, new procedures, new standards, change everywhere – and it’ll be interesting to see how that affects the content and quality of content here. (Spoiler alert: it’s just gonna be me turning in crap work and complaining I didn’t have time to think of anything better, starting with this cop-out of a post. You’ve been warned.)

And, hey, stuff changes while you’re gone, huh? WordPress seems to have a new, fancy layout now, almost as though it’s trying to tempt me back into using it. No need for the seducing act, WordPress – I’m here, just as sure as April is.

Ack, and at a minute to the deadline, I’m cutting this one pretty close.

Arrivederci!

4 thoughts on “A is for April

  1. Vedagiri April 3, 2016 / 10:15 am

    Go girl! complete the challenge!!

    • Clueless April 3, 2016 / 10:31 am

      Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂

  2. Rasheed Hooda April 2, 2016 / 12:46 am

    Looking forward to reading your musings, not not doing the challenge myself this year.

    • Clueless April 2, 2016 / 7:08 pm

      Aw, that’s too bad. Thanks for remembering me and dropping by, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

