A is for Anything

A is for apple. The kind I’m supposed to eat to keep the doctor away. And, you know, for vitamins and stuff.

A is for Apple, the kind I should be cutting down on instead of adding to an already-too-large collection.

A is for the aroma of freshly chopped garlic.

A is for the anxiety I feel every time I stare at a blank screen and a blinking cursor.

A is for the apprehension I felt about starting a new job after almost a year of unemployment.

A is for Arya Stark, my favourite Game of Thrones character.

A is for adventure, something I want, but don’t know how to make happen in my life.

A is for abalone, which, until very recently, I thought was a type of mushroom, but which is actually a sea creature with blue blood.

A is for ABC, the Australian TV network I do most of my work these days for.

A is for arrogance, which I’m finding more and more difficult to tolerate in the people around me.

A is for annoyances, of which I have far too many to lead a peaceful life.

A is for aluminium, a word I love getting people to write in their handwriting, because it always looks funny.

A is for animated movies, which I adore more than any child could.

A is for The As, a group of important people in my life whose names, like mine, all start with the letter A.

A is for the afternoons, which I wish didn’t need to turn into evenings.

A is for alone, something I find myself wanting to be a lot more than I ever did when I was younger.

A is for alot, a word I wish my students knew is not actually a word.

A is for afraid, which is what I am of lizards and other stuff like the future and unknown things in life. But mostly lizards.

A is for art, which is truly all around us.

A is for the amazement I feel at so many things all the time. We live in a miraculous world.

A is for the ability to come up with decent endings for my posts, a quality I sorely lack.

A is for absolutely anything and everything.

20 thoughts on “A is for Anything

  1. Anna April 2, 2015 / 11:35 am

    Not what I was expecting, which is nice =)

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 2:18 pm

      Haww, now I’m wondering whether that’s a compliment or a clever dig! 😉

  2. Wendy April 2, 2015 / 1:43 am

    I enjoyed this alot (ha ha – yeah, I’m clever that way – just want you to see I paid attention). Looking forward to reading what you will do with B.
    ~Visiting from AtoZ.

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 10:50 am

      I do see what you did there! 😉

      Thanks for dropping by! I haven’t had time yet to go visiting, but I will soon!

  3. RHooda April 2, 2015 / 12:12 am

    I love randomness. That is exactly what I am doing for my #atozchallenge, but I love how you brought order to randomness.

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:11 am

      Aw, I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  4. Ali April 1, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    So glad someone’s spreading the love about the words ‘a lot’. I saw this fab set of pictures a few years ago which brilliantly demonstrates misusing the word:

    http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/the-alot

    Hope you enjoy!

    Ali (1038, CU) from the Blogging from A – Z April 2015 Challenge

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:13 am

      It’s fascinating how many people seem to get it wrong, isn’t it? And yes, that set of pictures is exactly what I was thinking about as I was writing the word – The Oatmeal has some great illustrations for grammatical rules and commonly misused words, and they’re super helpful! 🙂

  5. Tamara Gerber April 1, 2015 / 9:21 pm

    A is for
    An apple a day…
    … keeps anyone away, if you just throw it hard enough 😉

    Cheers from a fellow A-Z blogger

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:14 am

      Ha! Those poor doctors! “We should’ve specified the eating part somewhere in that saying!”

  6. ros77uk April 1, 2015 / 6:45 pm

    I’m so glad you know that there is no such word as alot! I started to cringe as soon as I saw it appear on my screen. But I loved your post!

    Ros, visiting from GenWestUK

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:16 am

      I used to see ‘alot’ all the time (a lot, if you will) in my students’ essays, so I completely understand the immediate cringey reaction!

  7. GlassHalfWhat? April 1, 2015 / 11:46 am

    I LOVE this post so much! Happy challenge kickoff, yo!

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:17 am

      Merci, merci! 😀 I’m glad this is being so well-received – I spent an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to write, which is why I ended up with this jumbled mess.

    • Clueless April 2, 2015 / 1:17 am

      Thanks, babe! 🙂 Are you doing the challenge too?

    • Clueless April 1, 2015 / 10:16 am

      😀 And I had a feeling yours would have something to do with the fish! 😛

Leave a Reply

