Once More, With Feeling

If there’s anything I’ve learned in the almost 10 years of having this blog, it’s that I should stop making even the most vague allusions to its future. Every single time I’ve ended a post promising to be back soon (“this time will be different, and here’s an optimistic smiley to prove it!”), I’ve ended up going out of my way to do… well, not that.

And yet, here I am, writing a post in which I promise to not only “be back soon” (admittedly a less cool-sounding phrase than “I’ll be back”), but be back (almost) every single day in April. Yes, my friends, against all odds, I have been persuaded to join the A to Z Challenge again this year, and while last year was not all smooth sailing, the signs portend a much bigger scale of difficulty this time.

Last year, when I did this, I was jobless (quite literally), in the comfort of my parents’ home, where I was nourished with food cooked by my mother’s loving hands, and where I could shirk responsibility from other duties by claiming I was thinking of and/or writing my post for the day, which, for some reason, was a good enough excuse for my parents, who took the challenge almost as seriously as I did. This year, I’m 0 for 3. I’m working full-time, in my own apartment where I have to cook for myself and have no one I can con into doing my laundry for me by claiming I have “important posts to write”.

Still, I had enough fun doing this last year that I want to be able to participate again, especially considering some other people whose writing I enjoy are also doing it – Sayesha, my sister-in-law, who does this with all the above restrictions AND the challenges of looking after a young child, thus making me look silly for complaining, Macho Girl, my long-time partner-in-crime who, like me, grew silent for a while, but who I know is itching to be back on the blogosphere, and Sujata, who WILL finish the challenge this time, dammit! For the sake of my sanity, I’m not picking a theme, so prepare to be treated to a full spectrum of randomness (or, in other words, more of the usual).

If you’re participating, good luck (and let me know, so I can follow your progress), and if you’re not, I hope you’ll drop by to read whatever inane thing I come up with on the spur of the moment.

Deep breaths. Here we go again.

4 thoughts on “Once More, With Feeling

  1. peeves March 31, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    Yay!

    • Clueless March 31, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      Heya! Link me to your blog! 🙂

  2. Tarkabarka March 31, 2015 / 7:28 am

    Welcome back to the challenge! I hope you will have fun again! 🙂 Don’t forget to put this year’s badge up before April!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…

    • Clueless March 31, 2015 / 11:12 pm

      Thank you, and wish you the same! Thanks for the reminder about the badge – I’ll put it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

