S is for Silence

A baby’s incessant bawling,
Wailing on hands and knees
All waking hours spent crying,
Silence, please.

A child’s limitless demands
An appetite hard to appease
Asking, begging, tantrum,
Silence, please.

Chitter-chatter at school
Like the constant buzzing of bees
The teacher is sick and tired,
“Silence, please!”

At home, the parents fight
Marriage has no guarantees
The telephone rings round the clock,
Silence, please.

Outside, horns blare
Sounds of busy streets
Motorcycles, buses and cars,
Silence, please.

Disagreements with the spouse,
“Where did I leave my keys?!”
Overlapping loud voices,
Silence, please.

Loud bells at the temple
The ceaseless chanting of priests
I can’t find what I’m looking for,
Silence, please.

Music all around me
Music that does not cease
Music has become noise,
Silence, please.

A restless night in bed,
The mind is ill at ease
Too much noise in my head,
Silence, please.

Up to the roof I go,
Only me, the stars and the breeze,
Life doesn’t always makes sense
But the silence gives me peace.

6 thoughts on “S is for Silence

  1. akshprksh April 23, 2014 / 2:46 am

    Hahaha. Wonderfully written. I guess the last stanza is the true inspiration of this poem. Right? 🙂

    • Clueless April 23, 2014 / 10:58 am

      It wasn’t the first thing I thought of when writing the poem, surprisingly! 🙂

  2. Bron April 22, 2014 / 7:44 pm

    It’s nice to have your own place to find silence…

    • Clueless April 22, 2014 / 7:55 pm

      Everybody should have a place where they can go to find some peace and quiet!

  3. Sara April 22, 2014 / 1:36 pm

    I can relate to much of this! Great post!

Leave a Reply

