P is for Procrastination

Is there a modern vice worse than procrastination? If laziness is bad, procrastination is its ugly, evil step-cousin. The enemy of productivity, procrastination is that shiny temptress that invites you to spend your time more enjoyably and put off doing the actually important stuff until later. It doesn’t help that in this day and age, you’re never short of things to help you procrastinate. Don’t feel like doing work? Enter the black hole known as the Internet. If Satan does exist, he’s winning.

Whether it’s actual work or even just a leisure activity, I’ve always had something of a starting problem. I don’t actually have an issue doing anything, and chances are that once I get started, I’ll get so involved in it, you’ll find it difficult to pull me away from it. The only problem is actually sitting down and starting it. I’ll often find ways to put off whatever it is I’m supposed to be doing in favour of something that doesn’t require so much brain work. Unfortunately, even as I’m working on not using my brain, I can’t completely switch it off. I’m always thinking about that to-do list in the back of my mind, so even my procrastination is not peaceful.

When I was younger, I was definitely more on-task. Maybe there were fewer things to procrastinate with, or maybe there were fewer things to do, so I didn’t feel so overwhelmed all the time. These days, though, the list of things to do is always so long and never-ending, the urge to procrastinate just gets stronger and stronger. It’s bizarre that this tendency pops up even in the middle of doing something I enjoy, like blogging or catching up on a TV show (it took me way too long to watch all of Breaking Bad), but I guess procrastination doesn’t discriminate that way.

Oddly enough, I’m a big fan of list-making. I love writing things down and then checking them off, so I’ll include mundane things in my list, like “make to-do list”, just so I can tick it off and feel good about myself. It seems sort of silly to make lists of things to do and then purposely go out of my way to find ways to not do them on time, but sometimes, you just can’t control how your brain works. Oh, well.

I can’t think of a good way to end this post right now. Eh, I’ll figure it out later.

4 thoughts on “P is for Procrastination

    • Clueless April 19, 2014 / 11:08 am

      Oh, getting distracted is a whole ‘nother post! 😉

      Ooh, thanks for linking me! I appreciate the nod. 🙂

  1. Sara April 19, 2014 / 2:36 am

    Ha ha… this makes me chuckle. 😀 I’m a procrastinator, but I learned long ago that I almost NEED to procrastinate in order to be motivated. I think I often do a better job when I am motivated by stress or time. I enjoy it more, too. Hmm… like you say– “Sometimes you just can’t control how your brain works.”

    • Clueless April 19, 2014 / 11:07 am

      I do get a lot of work done at the last minute, and often, it turns out to be surprisingly good quality work, but I hate what it does to me physically and mentally. I hate, hate, hate being stressed, so even if I could get work done because of it, I’d prefer to avoid it to save myself the mental anguish! 😉

Leave a Reply

