O is for Optometry

I started wearing glasses when I was 14. As is the case with all fashions and trends, in retrospect, they seem to me to have been a particularly ugly pair of glasses, but at the time, I thought round lenses with silver frames (that matched my silver braces) suited me quite well. Unlike most people, though, I was thrilled to be wearing my first pair of glasses. I thought they made me look smarter and more grown-up, and I felt like I had finally been inducted into the league of adults because of it.

As anyone who wears glasses will know, they eventually become a pain because they’re just one more thing that can go missing when you’re rushing to go out. My glasses were sturdy, but they made their way into nooks and crannies so easily, I’d often find myself having to turn the house upside down to look for them. I remember not being able to find them once before leaving for work at 5.45am and thinking with growing desperation that I may as well as take the day off because it was pointless to go without them.

There was a point when my glasses weren’t as indispensable. Initially, I wore my glasses only in school because I couldn’t see the board from the back of the classroom, but I didn’t need them at home or anywhere else. Gradually, though, as the difference between clear and blurry vision became more and more obvious, it felt better to wear the glasses for longer, until a point came when I was wearing them throughout the day. Still, I never really thought about switching to contact lenses through all the time I was actually heavily depending on my glasses. I guess I had gotten adjusted to wearing them (there were many instances I’d wear them right into the shower and only realise when the water droplets started falling on them), but there was a part of me that was just afraid of getting into unknown territory. Even when practically every one I knew had switched to contact lenses, I avoided thinking about it.

Still, like all people, I eventually succumbed and got myself a pair of lenses last month. I’m still not used to them (I still spend an inordinate amount of time putting them on while blinking away tears, they’re so thin, I sometimes can’t tell if they’re even on and I make the Sourav Ganguly eyes a lot), and I only wear them when they are clearly a more convenient choice (like when I’m going to watch a 3D movie), but even I have to admit that they’re handy. I suspect they’re quickly going to become like any other convenient modern technology and become an indispensable part of life soon enough.

Next on the list of grown-up habits to get inducted into: figure out how to do under-eye make-up to get rid of the dark circles that are oh-so-obvious now without my glasses to conveniently hide them.

One thought on “O is for Optometry

  1. GlassHalfWhat? April 19, 2014 / 4:23 pm

    Concealer, concealer and then some more concealer. Buy Mac. Expensive but worth it.

Leave a Reply

