H is for Harry Potter

I can’t do a series about growing up without talking about Harry Potter now, can I? The world hasn’t ever been devoid of good books, but Harry Potter singularly woke an entire generation out of its stupor and got it reading again. I’d say that’s a pretty big accomplishment. I wasn’t a non-reader to begin with, but the Harry Potter series was the first one I found myself really, really investing in. I followed the series through several years of my own adolescent/adult life, so there’s a connection there that I don’t have with other books.

I’ve talked a lot about reading and books on this blog, so I won’t go into details about my Harry Potter experience. (In short: found out about the series pretty late in the game; read books 1 to 4 very quickly, then waited in agony as each book was released; read the whole final book overnight so I wouldn’t get accidentally spoiled.) At 26, I’ve definitely outgrown the series, and I know that because I can’t be bothered to get into arguments about it now, while 16 year old me would have been chomping at the bit to defend her opinions. I’ve also never visited the Pottermore website, nor do I have any plans to read any of those accompanying books Rowling penned.

Still, it shaped a significant part of my adolescence, so it feels right to give it some space here. Instead of talking about it, though, I decided to do one of those old school ‘tag’ thingies on the internet and take the easy way out of a post. 😉 This thing contains mild spoilers, by the way, so look away now if you don’t want to know. (Let’s be honest, though, if you haven’t read all the books by now, you’re probably not planning to.)

1. What is your favourite book in the series?

Prisoner of Azkaban.

2. What is your least favourite book in the series?

Deathly Hallows. I like it so little, I barely remember any of it.

3. Who is your favourite character?

This has kept changing through the years, but my original favourite was Hermione. I couldn’t pick one now, though.

4. Who is your favourite villain?

Narcissa Malfoy

5. Which character death made you the most emotional?

I think Cedric’s death hit me the hardest, just because it was the first one. I really, really wasn’t expecting it. (By Deathly Hallows, people were dropping like flies, so I couldn’t care less.)

Questions 6 to 10 are about Your (Imagined) Life At Hogwarts:

6. What house do you think you would be sorted into?

Hufflepuff!

7. What would be your favourite subject at Hogwarts? Least favourite?

I think Charms would have been fun. Potions would have to be the least favourite, and not just because of the teacher.

8. What would be your aspired Quidditch position?

I wouldn’t aspire to even be on the team, but if I was on it, I think I’d be a Chaser.

9. What would your Patronus be?

A small animal, like a rabbit. (I took an online quiz and it gave me ‘frog’, which I’m completely rejecting.)

10. Which would be your favourite spell to cast?

Accio would be super convenient for lazy people like me, I’d think. Wingardium Levi-oh-sa would be fun, too, because who wouldn’t enjoy making things float?

2 thoughts on “H is for Harry Potter

  1. peeves April 10, 2014 / 3:34 am

    I love this! And yay, fellow hufflepuff! Along with Cedric’s death, I think Sirius’s and Dobby’s and Hedwig’s were the hardest to swallow :(.

    • Clueless April 10, 2014 / 11:12 am

      Hufflepuffs unite! 😀

      I remember being aghast at Sirius’s death, but Dobby and Hedwig’s came at a time when Rowling had already killed off too many people for me to be surprised.

Leave a Reply

