New and Improving

There was a time when I used to be anti-resolutions. Not all resolutions, of course, but the ones made in the name of the New Year. I thought it was silly to have to wait for a specific day in the year to start something – January 1 is so overrated – and I had had enough personal experience with the lasting power of resolutions (a month or two, at most) to have much faith in them. A small part of me was also subscribing to the “My life is fine the way it is; I don’t need to list down the ways it could be better” philosophy, in a pre-emptive move to shield myself from disappointment.

I’ve come around on that line of thought, though. I understand that a lot of people (including myself) need the idea of a “fresh slate”, a point of time where they feel comfortable putting stuff behind them and starting anew. Stronger willed people can do this any day of the year, and there’s less need for this fresh start when the resolutions are small and achievable, but there is something appealing about the start of the year for those bigger, lifestyle-altering commitments we love imposing on ourselves. Most importantly, though, I’ve come to realise that, for me, at least, no matter the lasting power of the resolutions, making them is, in itself, a step in the right direction. The process of making resolutions allows me to reflect on my life in a way that I wouldn’t normally bother; it forces me to think about what I want from my life and what I need to do (small or big) to achieve that. It also provides me with something tangible to come back to whenever things become hectic and I lose sight of what it is I set out to do in the first place, and gives me something to account for at the end of the year. Ultimately, though, resolutions are about finding ways to be happier with yourself and your life, and I can’t fault anyone for wanting to do that.

So, without much ado, here are my resolutions for the coming year near future.

  1. Be healthy. Eat cleaner, exercise more. Specifically, eat home-cooked meals more often, drink at least 2.5 litres of water a day, work out/do yoga at least 5 times a week. You can wish for so many things and have them upended by poor health; there is really nothing more important.
  2. Travel. Plan and make 2 trips (and blog about them, if possible). I went on my first big vacation last year after nearly 4 years of earning my own money, and I don’t intend to wait another 4 for the next one.
  3. Read. I used to love reading, but at some point, it became more of a chore than a leisure activity. That has recently begun to swing back in the other direction, so I want to keep the momentum. On the safe side, I’m going to keep this goal at 5-6 books, but more would be fantastic. (I might make a more specific list later. Recommendations are welcome!)
  4. Blog. Twice a month is doable, I think, but I’d like to go further if possible. (Blogging-related goals have never had a good result in the past, but hopefully this will help me if writer’s block ever gets in the way. Fellow bloggers who want to get back in the game (you know who you are!), click on that link and give me company, please!)
  5. Communicate. You’d think I’d be better at keeping in touch with people in an age where technology is peaking, but these last few years have seen me really drop the ball on communication. Last year, in a fit of inspiration, I sent out hand-written letters that were so much fun to do and so well received that I’d like to continue that on a bigger scale this year. I also want to keep up with family more regularly, respond promptly to emails/letters and initiate contact more frequently and through more ways than just social media. 

I have more goals, of course (pursuing music, expanding my cooking skills, learning something new) but they’re more vague and I want to keep the list short and specific for the sake of manageability. Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep you all (and myself) updated on my progress through the blog. I like getting inspired by other people’s resolutions as well, so if you have a blog (ahem) and are so inclined, please post your list as well!

Happy New (and Better) Year! 🙂

4 thoughts on “New and Improving

  1. Appa January 1, 2014 / 3:41 pm

    Hope you will do all the above in the next year!!

Leave a Reply

