Facebook Yearbook

It’s the last day of the year! Time to reflect and review and write that “A Year In Review!” post! But what if you have the memory of a goldfish and can’t remember anything from before three days ago? You follow Sayesha‘s advice and hop on over to Facebook to see what you’ve been up to in the past year. (For a more comprehensive picture, troll other forms of social media as well.)

Painstakingly compiled, I present to you:

Clueless’ 2013: The Social Media Edition

January

Attempted Insanity (caution: link leads to big picture of sweaty, shirtless, bald man, if that’s the kind of thing you don’t want people to catch you looking at), discovered the Lizzie Bennet Diaries, sent out hand-written letters to some of my favourite family peeps, started thinking about a trip to Europe and made some frankly awesome-looking bow-tie pasta.

25958_10151204571966954_582409665_n

February

Started planning the Europe trip in earnest, giggled a lot after hearing the phrase “hairy styles” in class (and over the ensuing ‘pun battle’ on Facebook), got to spend many a working Friday enjoying the nice outdoors and other working days running into things like this:

17693_10151266577506954_40424191_n

March

Celebrated my darling niece’s second birthday, learnt to enunciate a proper Chinese saying, rediscovered the artistic genius that is Russian Unicorn, took a trip with the students to Bintan, Indonesia and got up to this view for 3 days:

882944_10151303263731954_292277676_o

April

Welcomed Game of Thrones back into my life, shot an air-pistol for the very first time:

901448_10151351703671954_1667381981_o

… and that’s about all that happened that month, apparently.

May

Visited Gardens by the Bay:

966601_10151383135171954_255408054_o

got my visa for France, read my first book that wasn’t part of the A Song of Ice and Fire series in 2 years, made Angry Birds out of play-doh and got to experience the world of a blind person for a few hours at Dialogue in the Dark.

June

Went on a fun cycling trip with colleagues, got convinced to get an ironed-out fringe, and finally made that much-anticipated trip to France!

1014567_10151436983746954_1285343769_o

July

Dropped my phone on the first day back at school, bought a new one after much deliberation on the model, wasted a whole day learning the Cup Song (and watching videos of a bazillion other people doing it), joined a fitness programme, watched a movie in IMAX 3D (alone!) and enjoyed the crap out of it, and watched a ballet performance in the park:

IMG_20130727_222710

August

Went out to dinner with both housemates for the first time, went on yet another cycling trip with a colleague, watched the National Day Parade on television over a nice Bangladeshi meal, got into lots of pointless arguments about beards, engaged in yet another pun battle on Facebook, indulged in Secret Friend shenanigans at school, and had a margarita in a beer mug:

IMG_20130824_205600

September

Made a dramatic re-entrance into the blogging world, celebrated my (to be) last Teachers’ Day with a colleague-aided duet, received some super cute gifts from students, like this one:

IMG_20130909_145314

spent a week drowning in the arduousness of exam paper setting, tended in my resignation at work, took a nostalgic trip back to the motherland (university), and celebrated a low-key 26th birthday.

October

Wrote over 50 personalised notes for my (last batch of) graduating students (complete with animal stickers and sparkly ink, like a proper grown adult):

IMG_20131003_183756

took lots of pictures with the kids, celebrated the end of exams (yes, it’s painful for us teachers, too!) with fun game days out with the colleagues, started on my first audiobook and bought my gorgeous Macbook Pro.

November

Went on yet another cycling trip with the colleagues (and one non-colleague; yay to mixing of friends circles!), celebrated my last day of teaching:

20131107_134341

went karaoke-ing after a whole year of wanting to, went to Pulau Ubin for the first time, started planning my year-end trip with Mom, took lots of group selfies (groupies?), got my first gel manicure (pretty, but such a chore!), attended my last official day of work and said my goodbyes to a lot of dear friends, binged on Breaking Bad.

December

Attended so many weddings, shopped a LOT, enjoyed so many ‘farewell’ dinners with the colleagues, made an entire painting from scratch:

IMG_20131205_171145

made a family trip to the River Safari, completed my Paint-by-Numbers project, sang a lot of Christmas songs, finalised plans for the vacation with Mom, packed up my things at work, packed up my stuff at home, and wrote this post.

It’s been an eventful year (social media doesn’t do it justice), but looking back on it, I realise that more than giving me memories to cherish, it’s given me so much to be thankful for.

Thank you to my family for always being there, supporting my decisions and always encouraging me to be a better version of myself. A mini-thank you to my niece for always brightening up my day just by being her.

Thank you to my wonderful colleagues for making a tough job enjoyable, for always lending a listening ear, for making me look forward to things and for always, always making me laugh.

Thank you to my students for being silly, getting me through tough days at work and for every word of appreciation that made me feel like I was doing a decent job.

Thank you to my housemates for being good friends I could always talk to, for all the meals we shared (no matter how few and far between!) and for making our house feel like home.

And thank you to the universe for surrounding me with good things and good people this year. There were lots of things that didn’t go right, but so many more things that did, and for that I’m grateful.

Goodbye, 2013! Here’s hoping next year brings just as much cheer and happiness as you did.

2 thoughts on “Facebook Yearbook

  1. GlassHalfWhat? December 31, 2013 / 9:15 pm

    This is so great! Happy happy New Year Anusha! 🙂

    • Clueless December 31, 2013 / 9:28 pm

      Happy new year, Su! 🙂 Here’s to making a meet-up happen in 2014!

Leave a Reply

