Ahoy there!

So, as is probably obvious if you’re reading this, I now have a WordPress account. Yes, I have finally jumped on the WP bandwagon. (Was there ever a WP bandwagon? I don’t know. Let’s assume there was.) Why, you ask? Oh, let me count the reasons. (No, seriously, let me. I love lists.)

  1. I haven’t updated my Blogger account in months, and I don’t really feel inspired to go back there and kick-start it. AGAIN. Especially because I know it will go dead again in a few months (or if I’m feeling spectacularly lazy, right after the kick-start post), and there’s only so many times you can resuscitate something before you just have to let it go.
  2. I’ve always been fascinated by the WordPress interface, and wanted to give it a whirl.
  3. Starting up a new blog when you have tons of other stuff you should be doing is always an irresistible prospect, isn’t it?
  4. Whoa, I always thought it was spelt ‘irresistable’. Mind = blown.
  5. WordPress endeared me to it by asking me to agree to its “fascinating terms and conditions”. Direct quote.
  6. Going back to the old posts on my other blog was making me cringe. Oh, the unnecessary ellipses! I figure now that I’m into my 20s, my style won’t change as drastically, so the most this post is going to get from me when I’m 30 is a slight wince.
  7. I’d rather get used to a whole new system than figure out what updates Blogger has made since I last used it back in my previous life.
  8. Dude, WordPress lets you “like” things! You know, Facebook style! Who needs well-written, insightful comments when you can register your pleasure with a single click of your mouse? JOY! (If Blogger also has this feature now, don’t tell me.) (Also, I just typed “let’s” instead of “lets”. I need to start blogging again!) (Okay, just spent another 10 minutes figuring out which one was correct, because I totally confused myself there. Sheesh!)
  9. Although it does occur to me that I myself do not benefit from this “liking” business unless every blogger I follow jumps ship as well. HMMMM. *plots*
  10. Because I don’t like ending my lists on odd numbers. (5 is an exception because it’s wholesome.)

So there. Now that I’ve justified my reasons for jumping ship to WordPress, I shall now embark on the arduous task of letting it gather cobwebsΒ while I not-so-inconspicuously ignore it. Fair winds!

10 thoughts on “Ahoy there!

    • clueless September 8, 2010 / 9:43 pm

      Ha. Dunno, just waiting for something to strike my fancy. πŸ™‚

  1. GlassHalfWhat? August 19, 2010 / 3:28 pm

    There πŸ˜€ ‘Liked’ your post . Facebook style ! πŸ™‚ WordPress buddies!

    • Clueless August 19, 2010 / 5:53 pm

      Ha, appropriate! Can’t think of a person better suited to use the FB ‘like’ system. πŸ˜€ And yes, WP buddies! Now all we have to do is keep each other motivated and writing! πŸ™‚

  2. shub August 17, 2010 / 10:47 pm

    “Your comment is awaiting moderation.”
    Moderation, MY ASS!

    • Clueless August 17, 2010 / 11:19 pm

      Chill, woman! The first thing I did as soon as I realized comments have to be moderated was try and change the settings, but it’s apparently only for the first time. Once you’re approved, you’re ALWAYS approved. πŸ˜€

  3. shub August 17, 2010 / 10:46 pm

    One more place to bug you about not blogging! Ooh joy.
    πŸ˜›

    • Clueless August 17, 2010 / 11:18 pm

      I know, right? Way to waste more time (mine AND others’)!

  4. starbreez August 17, 2010 / 1:41 pm

    Welcome!!!

    Hey, you can import your previous Blogger posts into your WordPress blog, you know! (Go to Dashboard, click Manage > Import > Blogger.)

    • Clueless August 17, 2010 / 10:15 pm

      Ooh, nifty! But there’s that whole thing about fresh starts and what not, so I’m just going to stick with this for the moment. If I start feeling nostalgic, though, I know what to do! Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

