Onward!

I’ve been thinking about what to write in this post ever since I published the last one – that makes it about 5 weeks now, wow – because I’ve been at an utter loss as to how exactly (if at all) I should celebrate my 100th post on this blog. On one hand, I can say “I wrote a HUNDRED posts on my blog” with much pride and joy. On the other, I’d have to complete that sentence with “… and it only took me four and a half years to get there”, which is slightly embarrassing, and proof of the laziness I try so hard to hide otherwise.

But like it often happens, I only grew more confused the more I thought about it. Which is why it is so amusing that the idea for what to write in this post came to me today as I was in the bathroom (all great ideas originate there, just ask Archimedes) in a single word.

Onward.

The word holds significance to me on two levels. It reminds me, first and foremost, of the motto of the school I have been working in these past four months. It never really meant much as long as I was working there, but now that I’ve left, poised on the brink of what can be called the actual start of my working career (training to become a proper teacher), it resounds with me much more. I joined the profession not knowing if this was indeed my calling. I still don’t know, but when a bunch of students from one of the classes I handled for the few months I was in the school came up to me on the last day and hand-delivered a big banner filled with photos of themselves (apparently so I wouldn’t forget them) and lots of post-it notes thanking me for being their teacher and asking me to come back to the school next year, I figured I was doing a good enough job to give it a try. A real, proper shot. My first ever stint as a teacher might not have given me much by way of pedagogy or teaching tactics, but it did give me the motivation to go forward in this line of work, and I owe that to the school. Onward, indeed.

On another level, the word shows me where I need to go now that I’ve reached the first (significant) landmark in terms of this blog and writing. I might often get lazy, and might “give up” on the blog with the frequently used excuse of not having the time, or (worse) not having things to write about, but it is always on my mind, and some day or the other, I WILL come back to it to pour my heart out. This blog grows with me, and matures as I do, literally changing in front of my eyes. (I cringe when I look at my older posts … I can’t believe I used to write like that! I often have to curb the instinct to go back and edit all of them to suit my tastes now.) As I move forever onward, so does this little corner of the web.

This post is therefore dedicated to two sets of people. One, my students at the school, for giving me a real, honest shot at the job I’ve chosen, and two, the wonderful people who read this blog religiously and take it upon themselves to constantly poke and prod me when I neglect it for long periods of time. You know who you are. I couldn’t ask for a better audience.

Happy 100th post, blog. Onward!

5 thoughts on “Onward!

  1. sowmya February 2, 2010 / 5:18 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes I want to go back and delete everything I've ever written before!! Haha.

  2. Sayesha December 14, 2009 / 12:50 pm

    CONGRATS!!! :DPS: See, you have to CALL and tell me that you have completed a 100 posts! 😛 I think I need to do more PnP (Poke n Prod)! 😀

  3. Clueless December 12, 2009 / 8:40 pm

    #MG,Thank you, thank you! 🙂 And thank you for the much needed inspiration throughout this journey! *hugs* >:D<#Soleil,It definitely is fitting, isn't it? Here's to a great year ahead!

  4. soleil December 9, 2009 / 1:51 pm

    WAH! 100 posts 😀 You know I've always enjoyed reading your blog so this fan is here to stay.Speaking of onwards, I feel the timing of your post is apt, when we are making running goals for 2010 and beyond! YAY 🙂

  5. Macho Girl December 9, 2009 / 10:27 am

    *hugs!* Congrats on your 100th post dearie! 🙂 🙂 :)Your blog is what you want it to be. And that means its alright if you don't post every other day. The fact that you write what "clicks" defines this page so you go girl!!!! :Dlove you loads and miss you loads!!!! >:D<

Leave a Reply

