Bossy Words

So, MG and I are in lab at 10 in the morning, jobless and without any work to do till afternoon. Unfortunately for us, our boss is sitting inside the lab, talking to a grad student, and we look kind of dumb sitting around and not doing anything. So we switch on the computer and pretend to read some super-important journal paper about phosphodiesterases, while secretly we’re just waiting for him to get out of the lab so we can get back to bumming around in peace.

Boss and Grad Student talk for about 15 minutes or so (during which, I may mention, there was a lot of yelling and angry words being exchanged), after which Boss makes a move to leave. MG and I get ready to breathe a sigh of relief. Unfortunately, things don’t go quite as planned for us, because instead of heading for the door, Boss comes right upto us and:

Boss: MG, Clueless, I need to talk to you. Now.

MG and Clueless: *matching “Oh shit, what have we done now” expressions*

Boss: Outside.

MG and Clueless: *follow Boss wordlessly*

Once outside …

Boss: I don’t know if I told you this before …

MG and Clueless: *completing sentence in head* … but I keep seeing you two bumming around in lab and I DON’T APPRECIATE IT. Get your asses down to work, pronto.

Boss: … but I want you to know that I’m really glad to have both of you working in the lab. It really boosts the morale of the lab. I’m glad you asked to be brought back, and I’m glad that despite the initial problems, we somehow managed it, because I really appreciate the work you guys are doing. I just wanted to let you know.

MG and Clueless: *matching expressions somewhere between ‘OMG OMG OMG”, “YAY!” and “Did that just happen?!”*

Boss: And also, my office is open for you whenever you need it. Don’t hesitate to just come up and talk to me about anything.

MG and Clueless: *still a bit speechless*

Boss: Alright, that’s it. You can go back now. *smile*

MG and Clueless: *wide grins*

Boss: Okay, then! *leaves*

MG and Clueless: *wide grins*

Sometimes, you just need something like this to happen to make up for a shitty week. Thank you, Boss. You’re not exactly known for your kind words of appreciation, so once in a while, when you make the effort, it really does mean a lot.

*wide grins*

6 thoughts on “Bossy Words

  1. ~anu~ November 6, 2008 / 2:11 am

    wooohooo! does that happen somewhere? the reverse sure happens a lot of time 😦 and hey congratulations for boosting the morale of lab and keeping it high! πŸ™‚ – stranger

  2. Narayan August 9, 2008 / 3:32 pm

    “Boss”? Is the guy narcisstic( dunno abt the spelling, though) or is he seriously “evil” ? *raising one eyebrow and bringing my face forward, and cue some creepy music*

  3. Narayan August 9, 2008 / 3:28 pm

    Being complimented for bumming around- I would love to have that happen to me!!!!! But seriously, it really makes up for all the crappy time you put in the lab, eh? πŸ˜€

  4. soleil August 8, 2008 / 12:53 am

    Nice! This is why you should never hold back on giving someone a compliment. It makes people’s days πŸ™‚

  5. Shweta August 4, 2008 / 11:25 pm

    ooh I always thought ‘boss’ seemed really nice in metab!and wow, that must have felt nice!

  6. Macho Girl August 1, 2008 / 10:52 am

    I dunno what to say!!! Its too damn soon to leave a comment. A part of me is still speechless and another part is waiting for the alarm to wake me up πŸ˜› If boss actually truly really just said what we thought he did…Then yay! We rock! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

