Fear Factor

I wake up one morning, and about five minutes later, I’m attacked. By a case of the hiccups. I drink a bit of water, but the damn thing just doesn’t go away. So I just do what I do best: I ignore it. So I’m sitting on the bed, surfing the net, looking to see if there are new movies to watch in the theatre, and MG comes in to see me having mini-spasms every few seconds. She sits down on the bed next to me, and stays quiet for a while, pretending to be interested in the list of “Now Showing” movies that are running on Cathay. Then all of a sudden, out of the blue:

“BOO!”

*hic*

“BOOOOO!”

*hic*

*pause while MG thinks of more ways to scare me*

“Tom Welling isn’t coming back for Smallville Season 8!”

*long pause*

*hic*

“Kristin Kreuk is coming back for Season 8! More Lana!”

*hic* (This is already old news for the hiccup-er.)

“Lana had plastic surgery and now she’s coming back as Kirsten Dunst!”

*hic* (Good try, though!)

“Prof is expecting you in lab today, even though it’s Saturday, and he’s going to be pissed when you don’t turn up!”

*hic* (Wow, I really don’t care.)

“The Dark Knight is rated R-21, so you won’t be able to see it in the theatre till September!”

*long pause*

*hic* (I really have my priorities screwed up, don’t I?)

*long, long pause as MG lies on the bed, thinking*

*sudden movement behind me* “BOO!”

*long pause*

Ow.

*hic*

“The people in NUS are so impressed with you, they’re offering you a free Masters in Life Sciences in exchange for your three-year bond!”

*hic* (Also, HAHAHAHAHAHA.)

“Sigh. Maybe good old water is still the best remedy.”

*glug glug glug*

Long, long silence.

“Hoorah! We’ve done it! You’re cured!”

*hic*

*headdesk*

11 thoughts on “Fear Factor

  1. Clueless July 15, 2008 / 11:27 pm

    #Akshay,I haven’t tried holding my breath, really. I do that sort of thing better when I’m under water. ;)#Shub,Hee, I think that sort of shock would more likely cause a heart attack!#Shweta,Hey, that doesn’t sound like such a bad idea! πŸ˜› ducks* #Paddyman,Hee! Good for you! I’m going Saturday, and I’m watching it on the biggest screen in the country! :D#Akshaya,7 drops of water, eh? That sounds pretty specific! I’ll try it the next time and let you know! πŸ˜€

  2. Akshaya July 15, 2008 / 11:18 pm

    Haha..U’re so… random!When I used to get hiccups, my grandpa used to advise me to take 7 drops of water continuously. (Heaven knows why!) and I followed it. Wonders of wonders…it worked. From then, Whenever I get hiccups, I stick tot he 7 drop mantra…Try it next time.

  3. Paddyman July 11, 2008 / 1:26 am

    Dark Knight first day second show! mwahahahaha!! First show is close to my lunch break at work unfortunately, wasnt able to squeeze a couple of hours in there.

  4. shweta July 7, 2008 / 2:37 pm

    Hehe, Jo Rowling writing 8th HP Book about The Marauders? That do it?

  5. shub July 7, 2008 / 12:28 pm

    How about pointing out and shrieking at imaginary cockroach? Also reminds me of the classic nun with hiccups joke. She goes to a doc for a cure. Doc runs some tests(!) and says ‘you’re pregnant!’ Hiccups instantly stop πŸ˜€ Try that next time πŸ˜›

  6. Akshay July 7, 2008 / 1:11 am

    Hilarious! :DDoes “holding your breath” not work anymore in this world?Nice stuff on your blog – had fun reading it.

  7. Clueless July 6, 2008 / 10:33 pm

    #MG,*plugs fingers in ears* Dammit, woman! Do you always have to resort to crude methods to get things done? ;)#Urv,I think water does work! I don’t know why or how, but it does! *stomps foot* :P#Soleil,My desk is starting to form a dent, but I’ll try and vary my positions each time so I don’t cause the desk too much harm! :PAnd the hiccups just sort of … went away. After a while. By themselves. Weird, I know. :/#Narayan,Back at home, I used to eat a bit of sugar and then drink some water. It actually worked every single time!And yay, can’t wait to see you! πŸ™‚

  8. Narayan July 6, 2008 / 3:10 am

    Does water actually work? *scratching chin* And everything’s been sorted out- see you later in the month!

  9. soleil July 6, 2008 / 1:49 am

    Please tell me how you finally cured the hiccups. I hope your desk is fine. You seem to be heading it pretty often… Poor desk :p

  10. Urv July 5, 2008 / 3:42 pm

    Ha ha.. For a long time since childhood, I had actually been under the impression that it was the Magical water that worked wonders and not the fact that one’s attention was being diverted..

  11. Macho Girl July 5, 2008 / 11:50 am

    Haha… those hiccups can be nasty and i find that water really doesnt help me. What i do is pinch my nose, hold my breath and count ti…*ear piercing shriek*Did that help? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

