A Rush of Blood to the Head

(I should keep track of how many music-related titles I’m able to come up with on this blog. *g*)

Some things happen for a reason. Others happen by mere coincidence. It was a case of the latter phenomenon that had me at the Health Sciences Authority, waiting in line to donate blood on a day that just happened to be World Blood Donor Day.

Now, my previous attempts at donating blood have been … adventure-ridden, to say the least. My friends have gone so far as to call them “failures”, berating me for putting myself through the process again and again. As per my calculations, however, as long as I’m alive and well and the blood bank has a nice, full bag of healthy blood, the donations count as “successes”. Also, it makes me feel good about myself and has a lot of people fussing over me for an entire day helps people, so it’s all good.

So off I went to HSA with my brother, slightly nervous at the prospect of a reunion with fat, scary-looking needles, but excited at the thought of having people fuss over me helping the world. Things went as normally as possible (although now that I think back, the blood bank seemed curiously empty for such an important day) – the nurse found my vein, jabbed the abnormally fat needle in, gave me my blood drop-shaped squishy thing and told me to … well, squish. So I squished and squished and I squished some more.

I was feeling slightly odd by now – usually, by this point of time, something dramatic would’ve already happened that would’ve caused people to flock around me and fuss. And this time, things were actually proceeding smoothly. The nurses were being their usual sweet selves, but – for lack of a cheesier word – I didn’t feel special. I wasn’t that darling little girl who came in despite her having a practically non-existent vein, determined to do her small part to help people. I wasn’t that sweet little child who suffered through ugly, purple bruises, that brave kid who stubbornly insisted on giving blood even as she blacked out halfway through the process. I was just a normal girl donating blood with the rest of ’em ordinaries. :/

Anyway, once I had squished my way to a full bag of blood, the nurses tended to me, patched me up (the sweet lady even asked me my colour preference for the arm-band) and sent me on my way with my food coupon. Still feeling oddly normal, I joined my brother in the mini-cafeteria, where he was waiting, having already finished his donation in record time. We got ourselves some stuff to munch along with some hot Milo and sat down to eat, discussing … something (I can’t remember what now).

What I do remember is my vision slowly starting to darken as I sat there talking to my brother. That’s it. The next thing I knew, I was on the ground, my feet propped up on a chair, with four or five people looking worriedly down at me. Now, a few things I learned from this:

1) Never go for a blood donation alone, especially if you are prone to fainting. If my brother hadn’t been around, it would’ve taken my falling off the chair and probably hurting myself for people to realize I was in trouble.

2) Take your time at the hospital – don’t leave too early. Fainting at the hospital is infinitely better than fainting in the MRT or on the road.

3) NEVER wear a skirt to a blood donation. (Not that I did; it’s just something that got reinforced by my experience.)

Anyway, looking at all those worried faces, I almost burst out in giggles, but I figured it might not be the best thing to do after such a situation and so settled for politely letting them know I was alright. The doctors and the nurse didn’t quite seem convinced (I wonder why!), and so they got me on a stretcher (I haven’t been on one since I was 6!) and wheeled me back into the room I’d just gotten out of to spend another half an hour or so “resting”.

And suddenly, just like that, everything was normal again. I was special. People were concerned about me and were fussing over me.

Finally, things were right with the world again. πŸ˜€

11 thoughts on “A Rush of Blood to the Head

  1. Clueless July 6, 2008 / 10:38 pm

    #Shweta,Was that a joke? Because I think that just went right over my head. *whoosh* :P#Sayesha,Nope, I got that done all by myself! :DThank you! >:D<#Alpine path,Of course it’s normal! You’re giving some of your precious life fluid to help the world! What’s not to feel special about? :DAnd thank you so much for the layout compliment! :)#Soleil,I actually, actually fainted! It was so cool! :DOoh, yes. I guess the next time you go, you just tick the appropriate boxes on the form and see what they say about it. I don’t think it should be too much of a problem, though. The nurse said it would be alright for me to go around twice a year, so we’ll see if I can go with you too! πŸ™‚

  2. soleil July 6, 2008 / 1:46 am

    Oh my! You actually fainted! Thank goodness bro was there with you. We will never let you go alone for blood donations… Speaking of which, I have to go find out how long after coming back from Europe I can donate blood again…

  3. alpine path June 30, 2008 / 2:30 am

    Cool! πŸ™‚ So, there is another person in the world who thinks feeling special on the day of blood donation is a “normal” thing and even “expected”! πŸ˜€ Way to go! Btw, your purple layout looks awesome! No wonder your bro put in so much effort.

  4. Sayesha June 26, 2008 / 4:58 pm

    As long as they didn’t have to pump back the blood they took from you! Hehehe! :PProud of you, girl! >:D<

  5. Shweta June 26, 2008 / 4:47 pm

    πŸ™‚ (though 😐 would be just as appropriate)It was empty because all the donors were at the zoo.

  6. Clueless June 25, 2008 / 4:48 pm

    #Urv,Heh. I don’t usually look at the needles either. Sometimes, you just get a look at them while they’re prepping the stuff and it seems a tad too huge for humans. πŸ˜‰ #MG,I told you! As long as I’m alright later, it doesn’t really matter lah! Ha, and of course those points look familiar! You always get advance notice of everything! :P#Starbreez,Not to worry! It’s not as bad as it sounds. πŸ™‚ And yup, thank God for ’em brothers! Sure come in handy when you’re fainting all over the place! :P#Paddyman,Ha! Why so? What about you seems so un-hospital-y? ;)#Sowmya,Thank you! πŸ™‚ Heh, it’s not so much a phobia now as much as it is a physical thing. But really, it sounds much worse when all written out like that. I’m perfectly alright now. πŸ™‚

  7. sowmya June 25, 2008 / 3:17 pm

    Haha. Hugs. Nice new template too. Why, oh why do you do this when you have blood phobia anyway?

  8. Paddyman June 24, 2008 / 2:40 am

    Doctors usually shoo me away, or look at me with a beady eye whenever I step into a hospital. No one ever labours under the illusion that Im there to donate blood. And apparently thats a good thing!

  9. starbreez June 23, 2008 / 11:37 pm

    aiyoyo! :-Obut thank God for people who donate blood, and thank God for brothers.

  10. Macho Girl June 23, 2008 / 9:13 pm

    :|Is that why u go for blood donation???!!!! shame on u!!! And the fact that u blacked out 2 out of the 3 times u donated blood and felt faint the one other time u didnt black out is a sign!!! Go figure! :PThe points that u have listed as lessons seem familiar… i’ve seen ’em somewhere b4 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  11. Urv June 23, 2008 / 7:08 pm

    πŸ˜€ When I go for blood donation, I make sure not to look at the needles. They scare the bejesus out of sissy me.

Leave a Reply

