Life Is … A Document?

I had an epiphany of sorts today. I was doing one of my rare moments of philosophizing, when I came up with this gem:

Everybody’s life is a Read-Only Adobe file.

Before you think I’ve gone off my rocker, let me explain. I was thinking about how we’re all each responsible for our own happiness and sadness, when I hit upon this analogy. We’re all Read-Only files. Anyone can download us, read us, comment on us, criticize us … whatever. Ultimately, though, no one but us can do anything about it. And that works for both good and bad stuff. Somebody sees a typo in the document? No one but the owner can change that. Too bad. Some kind soul can notify us about it, in which case we make a conscious effort to correct it, or we just realize it on our own and change it ourselves.

On the other hand, if someone doesn’t like something about the document? Well, too bad for them. We have full ownership, so we have the right to keep and remove whatever we want. No one but us can change the document, just like no one but us can control our emotions. We choose to be happy or sad, we choose the way we feel. That’s why it’s stupid to say, “I’m sad/depressed because of so and so”, because ultimately, we’re the only ones who can alter the way we feel. Sure, people can influence us, but remember. The text is Read-Only.

Um, yeah. That’s my random moment of philosophization. I’m probably going to look at this a few months down the line and go bang my head against the wall, but it makes sense to me right now and I guess that’s all that matters.

The End!

(Yeah, I feel terribly random today.)

11 thoughts on “Life Is … A Document?

  1. Clueless July 6, 2008 / 10:44 pm

    #Sowmya,Great minds do tend to think alike! πŸ˜‰ *hugs*#Niraja,:)

  2. Niraja June 28, 2008 / 11:16 pm

    you can say that again πŸ˜‰

  3. sowmya May 5, 2008 / 8:07 pm

    oh so true. my previous post was to the same effect as well. thinking along the same lines, are we? hugs!

  4. Clueless April 29, 2008 / 11:45 am

    #Sayesha,Yup, yup. Like I said to her, by giving these people access, you are sort of acknowledging that these people are important enough to change things without your permission. Of course, it’s your file, so you can just choose to withdraw access as and when you feel like it! ;)#El,Hello! Haven’t seen you around here before *waves*Heh, I know I needn’t have explained it, but I thought a one-line post about my sudden epiphany that life was a read-only file would surely make people think I was off my rocker. πŸ˜‰ Glad to know you caught on quickly!

  5. El April 29, 2008 / 3:29 am

    you didn’t need to explain the quote! it speaks for itself in way, it made me nod my head wisely and go ah, yes ofcourse. ❀

  6. Sayesha April 20, 2008 / 11:41 am

    Macho girl’s analogy is interesting too. Maybe it’s a read-only doc that you give certain people the password to? πŸ™‚

  7. Clueless April 20, 2008 / 2:13 am

    #MG,Sure, you can give a limited number of people access to the document, but by doing so, you are guaranteeing in a way that these people are people you can trust to make changes to your file. But, even so, as Lionel Luthor would say (and what a person to quote!) – “If you want something done right, you better do it yourself, son.” ;)#Soleil,Exactly. As long as you aren’t satisfied/happy with yourself, what does it matter? As selfish as it may sound, ultimately, it’s all about the self. Please the self, then think about pleasing others. :)#Shweta,Aw, I know the feeling. The less I think about that subject the better – I didn’t have very pleasant experiences either. :/Glad to have helped! And hang in there – you’ll get through it like we all did! :)#Sayesha,Ha! I seem to have good timing, eh? Hope everything’s alright! *hugs* And glad to have helped! πŸ™‚

  8. Sayesha April 19, 2008 / 5:15 pm

    How timely! I SO needed something like this right now! πŸ™‚

  9. Shweta April 16, 2008 / 11:41 pm

    you know, this couldnt have come at a better time, we had our experimental mol bio post-mortem today, and I was horribly depressed about the results, and this kinda puts things in perspective, thanks πŸ™‚

  10. soleil April 16, 2008 / 6:18 am

    Very appropriate analogy. It makes sense to me πŸ™‚ You may be surrounded by people whom you feel the need to please or whose expectations you want to live up to, but at the end of the day, you yourself are the one who needs to be pleased, whose expectations are the most important to live up to. Thank you for this post. I’ve needed to remind myself of this recently.

  11. Macho Girl April 16, 2008 / 12:56 am

    high time you felt random! More than a month since u last posted!!!Anyways, a very enlightening post (and dinner discussion!). I’ll download this post and learn something from it :)Just a thought… maybe life is a read-only document that can be modified and controlled not just by you, but certain other people (limited number) to whom u choose to give access. Just my thought on trying to reason out why some people affect us so deeply that it seems to change everything! of course, ultimately its upto you, to whom u wanna give or deny the access πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

