Randomosity, Part Deux

I feel another random post coming on! What can I do? These things are addictive – they’re simple, they require no special thought other than the stuff already you’re already mulling about at the time of the post, and they’re a convenient way of posting stuff on your blog without having to think of “themes” or “topics”. Have we established now that laziness is a fundamental part of my existence? Alrighty-roo, then. Let’s move on. *g*

1. I’m so freakin’ happy these days. Everytime I come home for the holidays, people go, “They feed you well in Singapore, eh?” Hmph. I can’t help it if the only vegetarian food I get there is oily and fatty. These holidays, though, every single person I’ve met (and I mean every single one of them) has commented on the fact that I look slimmer than the last time they saw me. It doesn’t matter that I might’ve looked like a whale the last time these people saw me, what matters is that they notice I’ve lost weight. See, that’s the good thing about being on the plus side. When you shed some kilos, people notice. And they comment. Now, would they do that if you were always the perfect size and shape? (What?! I’m lookin’ on the bright side here!)

2. A few friends have come to snag some songs off my playlist in the past few days, and I’m tired of getting embarrassed everytime they scroll through the “B” section and notice the huge collection of Backstreet Boys songs on my iTunes. I listened to them obsessively during my formative years, ‘kay? I harbour nostalgic feelings for them now. Don’t blame me for being sentimental!

3. On that note, I’m now openly admitting that I don’t like heavy metal. I don’t care how cool it makes you look to have Metallica, Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath on your playlist – I don’t because I’m not particularly fond of their “music”. I’m willing to try new stuff (and I like most of the “mullet rock” played on Supernatural, so I’m definitely malleable), but I’m not going to go and listen to AC/DC of my own accord. And I’m not ashamed to say that anymore.

3.5. I haven’t used the word “malleable” since school days, when I used to use it to describe some metal (or something) in my Physics papers. Oh, and I always used it in conjunction with “ductile”. Malleable and ductile. Yup.

4. When I found out they were showing Supernatural here in India on Animax of all channels, I didn’t know whether to be ecstatic or amused. Animax, really? I’ve always avoided that channel owing to the Japanese manga-type animated shows that keep airing 24/7. Supernatural and Andromeda are apparently the only … er, real-people shows they air on that channel. Heh. It feels like I turned on Cartoon Network and caught an ad for Heroes. “Catch brand new episodes of Heroes on Thursdays, 8 pm, right between Powerpuff Girls and Bob the Builder!”

5. It’s taken two and a half years of being away at a foreign university, but my mom finally feels confident about my ability to take care of myself in the future. (I helped wash a big bundle of dishes today, so that may have tilted the scale a bit.) Yay, me!

6. My idle musings in the past few days have led me to realize that I have watched a LOT of TV in my (limited) lifetime. It’s a miracle I passed high school, really. Maybe someday I’ll make a list. *ponders*

7. I’ve come across so many fantastic YouTube videos in the past two years (100mbps connection in the hostel room, ahem) that I feel inclined to do a “Video of the Week” type thing on my blog, a la Sayesha. I don’t know whether it’s a good idea. What do you guys think? Yes? No? Don’t care either way?

ETA: 7.5. In the spirit of using some Blogger features I haven’t used before, I’m setting up a poll on the right. I’m very excited about it, so please do vote and make me happy! Yes, yes, I know this is my blog and I can do whatever I want with it, blah blah blah fishcakes, but … *sigh*, just please go and vote, ‘kay? πŸ˜€

8. I think my love for Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki may be slowly trumping my love for the one and only Welling. It’s a scary, scary feeling.

9. I’ve been meaning to cut my toenails for about … oh, two weeks now. Talk about procrastination. Ew.

10. I’m very fond of showing off injuries. This may be evidence of a pathologically self-centered attention-seeking personality, but I’ll just attribute this particular quirk to … well, quirkiness. Anyway, as I was saying, I love to show off injuries, especially if they have pretty bandages on them. I love band-aids. Square, round, the usual long rectangles – I like ’em all.

11. Clean shaven > stubble > full-grown beard and mustache. Boys, take note.

12. My brother has a big collection of Agatha Christie books, half of which I’m willing to bet he hasn’t read. I’ve read quite a few Christie books, and I want to make a list now. Suddenly, I’m very fond of lists. I want to make lists of everything. Books I’ve read, movies I’ve watched, songs I like. Must. Control. Self. (Oh! But I’m going to start brand new lists come January for the stuff I already have on the blog (*points to right*, *winks at MG*), so yay!)

13. My mp3 player has a mind of its own. It played Michael BublΓ©‘s “Everything” 4 times in a single day. While on shuffle! Of course, I switched it off and back on between every one of those 4 times, but shouldn’t it have some sort of mechanism that helps it choose one of the 200 other songs on my playlist before it plays the same damn song again and again?

14. I want to keep track of the number of times I say, “Remember that episode of Friends in which … ?” Seriously. All roads lead back to Friends. For me, at least. For others, it’s Simpsons. Or South Park. Why is it always the sitcoms, though? Better, wittier dialogue? More one-liners to snag?

15. Oh, South Park. I don’t know whether to laugh at it or cry at the obscenities. What is it about the show that amuses so many people? That it uses profanity in insane amounts? That it’s animated characters doing all the swearing? That it’s animated children swearing and cursing and, well … dying every episode? I think the show’s funny, but I just don’t get the mass appeal.

16. I don’t like the fact that Christmas and New Year come so quickly in succession. They’re both important days for me (I have no clue why, since I don’t celebrate either day), and I don’t like that they’re so close to one another. I like my celebrations spread apart – it makes each of them more special.

17. MG and I often play a game when we’re “taking a break from studies” (aka, “bored out of our minds”). We listen to the first few seconds of a song (and I’m talking a second or two max, here) and see who can guess the song name first. In the course of such games, I have come to realize that the first few chords of Bethany Joy Lenz and Tyler Hilton’s “When The Stars Go Blue” and Nirvana’s “Heart Shaped Box” sound very very similar, that the beginning chords of Anggun’s “Snow On The Sahara” always remind me of Enigma’s “Return To Innocence” and that the opening of Lighthouse Family’s “Ain’t No Sunshine” sounds just like Madonna’s “Frozen”. Interesting, huh?

18. I can’t count the number of times I’ve wished that everything in life came with a “missed call” feature. Life would be so much easier that way, no? Can’t find that elusive pair of scissors? Give it a missed call. Can’t find your hairbrush/keys/glasses/whatever when you’re already late for work/class? Give the damn thing a missed call. End of misery.

19. New Year in a few days! I wonder what it’ll be like to write “2008” everywhere instead of “2007”. Speaking of which, I just can’t get myself to write something like 2/4/08. I just can’t. I need to write 2/4/2008. I don’t know why. People are obviously not going to mistake it for 1908, but I just can’t do it. I know, I’m weird.

20. Why does LiveJournal seem oodles more fun than Blogger? *is grumpy*

21. Oh, and speaking of Blogger’s incapabilities, why does it not have a strike-through feature (that awesome feature in which you can write stuff and strike it off, thus providing fantastic opportunity for wit, snark and humour), a la WordPress and LJ? *is more grumpy* (Or “grumpier”. Whichever.)

22. *is hit by suspicion* Okay, since I’m no techno-whiz, is there a strike-through feature in Blogger? ‘Cuz I’ve seen some bloggers use it and I seriously don’t know whether it’s because they know too much HTML crap for their own good, or because they just have better Blogger skillz than I do. Or both. Halp!

23. Switching tracks to stuff that makes me happier (*breathes*, and can you tell I’m becoming much too fond of these asterisk signs?), I can make dosas now! And they used to be amoeba-shaped, but now they’re nice and round and dosa-like! I’m so proud!

24. The other day, I noticed a bunch of bananas hanging from the clothes-line in my house. The clothes-line, people. My mom gave me an explanation, but I can’t remember right now, ‘cuz I was too busy laughing to properly listen to her.

25. I don’t wear my glasses around the house, so whenever I do wear them (like when I’m going out and there’s something I need to … er, see properly), they feel heavy and awkward. And they’re frameless – that’s as light as they’re going to get.

26. Why is SRK becoming the next Amitabh Bachchan these days, in terms of commercials? He’s just doing random crap now. Has anyone seen that Dish TV ad? So dumb. *cringes*

27. I *heart* Riverdance. I was watching my Riverdance DVD yesterday, and I’ve been gripped by a sudden manic urge to skip and prance and tap-dance my way around the house – such is the energy and fantabulousness of the show. It is, by far, THE best dance concert I’ve ever watched. Also? Irish music is made of awesome.

28. Why does life have to be so chock full of choices? As glad as I am to have graduated out of school-life, I miss the times when all I had to worry about was passing my way into the next grade. Now, everything’s about the future. What subjects should you choose? Do you want to work or study more? What kind of job do you want? What kind of job will you get? Argh. When will the decision-making stop?!

29. Is singing even a valid talent these days? I’ve been watching these singing competition type shows on TV and my God, everybody can sing. And bloody well, at that. What is up with the world?

30. Oh! I was watching “Psycho” with my sister the other day (the 1960s one – movie, not sister!) and both of us literally screamed when the “mother” came out to stab the detective guy on the stairs. My mother ran out of the kitchen to ask us what the matter was, and when we rewinded a bit to show her the part, we realized there was nothing to it at all, action-wise. The lady very calmly came out and stabbed the man. What had freaked the crap out of us was the super-shrill, screechy, freaky background music. Damn you, Hitchcock. Just when I was going to safely say that horror movies didn’t scare me, you go and freak me out with friggin’ background noise.

31. *looks at length of post* Ahem, alright. I may have rambled on a bit too much this time. Darn it, I’m not going to have anything to say for weeks and weeks now! *is suddenly scared*

32. Hee. Kidding. I’ll be back soon! (Or will I? *mysterious music plays*)

33. Alright, alright! I’m going! Toodles! πŸ˜€

9 thoughts on “Randomosity, Part Deux

  1. Anonymous February 5, 2008 / 6:19 pm

    hey thats the best randomness iv ever read on a blog…. i read thru the whole thing…. heheand specifically,1. im already pretty thin, and apparently im losing weight, bcos thats th only thing folks back at home have to say when they see me… or maybe theyv totally forgotten everything else about me.. omg!2. i keep BSB and westlife on my player just for sentimental reasons.. th fact that i used to enjoy them in school… and sing them during classes ;).. but seriously, it sounds so boring compared to the other 500 songs i have… 3.5 omg… i jus realised i havent used malleable since i passed out of 10th.. not even in literary frenzies… shows how much chemistry disgusted me!!!!6. even i wonder how i passed college… though well, im not sure a lot of people have passed college purely by studying! anyways….7.5 wer’s the vote?9 iv been meaning to cut them for about 2 months now.. u know, they dont grow much after a certain point.. and anyway, its hidden in my socks for most of the day…13 i hope the day comes when my MP3 player does read my mind.. heck, i take it out of shuffle because i dont like the song.. why does it have to keep coming back?14. yesterday i was sitting in class and i was thinking about th episode in which joey just puts on a new shirt (because th other one was stained with food) and imm’ly munches at a doughnut, and its stained again… well, i kind of realised that i havent eaten a doughnut since i left college 3 yrs ago, and (well, maybe it was just an excuse for not listening to the rest of the lecture) felt mighty hungry for a doughnut….17… 3 or 4 times, i would have heard an english song, and then put on a bollywood number, and its virtually the same… “Na thum jaano na hum in KNPH is th same starting as “we are the world” and “right here waiting” is copied in a malayalam song from “swapnakoodu”18.. yep, I LOVED THIS THE MOST… how true…. ok well, thats wat i wanted to comment about… th miss called feature, and look how much iv typed.. anyways, tyo wind up, even iv longed for those days when all u had to care was to make it to the next standard in school.. and that too, unless you tried hard, they wouldnt fail you anyway… to even think that i wanted to grow up in those days!!!!!have a good rest of the yrab

  2. Clueless January 5, 2008 / 1:27 pm

    #Sanyukta,Happy New Year! :)#Paddyman,Oh, bless you. How you people figure this out, I have no clue. I’m happy just mooching off your intelligence. Thank you, thank you! πŸ˜€

  3. Paddyman January 5, 2008 / 12:30 am

    ok bad punctuation, i meant put the text between “(strike)” and “(/strike)” tags in your editor

  4. Paddyman January 5, 2008 / 12:29 am

    You can create strike through effect by putting the text you want struck through in “(strike) and “(/strike)” tags. Replace brackets with angular brackets! Blogger doesnt allow html tags in comments, apparently!

  5. Sanyukta January 2, 2008 / 2:08 am

    Short commentHappy New Year πŸ™‚

  6. Clueless January 1, 2008 / 5:08 pm

    #Archun,Heh, I get carried away sometimes. πŸ˜› I do want to take up writing seriously sometime – let’s see if something works out! :)#MG,1) Yikes! You can’t afford to lose any more weight, child! You’re already thin!4) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ But don’t worry, now that the season’s over, they’ve stopped showing. So I effectively just managed to watch 2 episodes :P8) Oye! No chance! I want all three, and we can share! No taking my Jared or Tom, sorry! :P13) I don’t take the mp3 out of shuffle! I just switch it on and off to save battery! Anyway, I know why it does it – I just don’t like it! :/16) Aww. I’ll call you lots of times to make sure your birthday is going well! :D23) A-po, a-di! :P27) If I can snatch it away from my mother, I will! :)30) Good for you! Now we can start watching Supernatural together! :D#Soleil,1) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :D5) Hee. I need a lot of things to make the dosas tho, so the only way you’re getting any Clueless-made dosas is if you visit chez Clueless. *hint hint* :D13) Are you implying something? Am I supposed to be looking for some hidden meaning in that statement? *raises eyebrow*24) Bwah, I don’t remember. I’ll ask Mom again and find out :P29) Shut up, you sing beautifully! :)*wipes brow*

  7. soleil December 31, 2007 / 12:49 am

    This is a really long post so I suddenly forgot what I wanted to say :p let’s go one by one and comment on those that I do have something to say:1) Well dear, you should be freakin’ happy cos you deserve to be! I think you look great! :D2) Nothing wrong with the backstreet boys. I listen to them too! 5) I think this may have something to do with number (23). I demand dosas made by Clueless before I fly off hehe.7) Poll answered :)13) I think your iPod is trying to tell you something. Think hard Clueless. Is there someone/something that you usually relate to the song?17) I remember this game! 18) All things in the future should have some sort of homing device installed in them. I totally agree! Especially when things like to go missing at the most irritating of times like when you’re just about to leave your room.24) Do tell why the bananas were hanging from the clothes line! I’m really curious.28) I doubt we can ever run away from choices…29) You can sing! It’s people like me who can’t sing much more than a few notes and a few kids’ songs :p*phew*

  8. Macho Girl December 30, 2007 / 9:18 pm

    Equally long comment1) Ppl say I’ve lost weight too! Apparently I look like a kid suffering from malnutrition 😐 Thats taking it too far! :(3.5) I miss the kind of “studies” in school sometimes where everything (including marks!) was clear cut. I miss Malleable and ductile too!4. Two syllables for u… PO-DI!!!!6) Even I am surprised with the amount of shows u have watched! :O7.5) the “just go and vote, ‘kay” part reminds me of eminem kids. “Drugs are just bad, m’kay?”8) Jared is mine! and since u dont like TW, i’ll take him too :D9) Ditto :-/10) Wait till u see my big huge knee injury!!!! Its really big!!! And had a big bandage for 3 days!12) Yay! :D13) anytime u take an mp3 out of shuffle and put it back, it will repeat songs dearie. Thats why i avoid doing that!16) Atleast its just christmas and new year for you. For me its chirstmas, new year AND birthday! 😦 😦 πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ And it doesn’t look like I will be celebrating ANY of them this year 😦 😦 😦 :'(23) I have been making round, crispy dosas since 7th standard!26) Aap bhi cable se santhust hain? Thoda aur wish karo! Dish Karo! Blah!27) Can you bring it along so I can watch it someday? :)30) I watched “Child’s Play” and didn’t freak out and also slept peacefully at night πŸ™‚ I have grown up now

  9. Archun December 30, 2007 / 8:42 pm

    First to vote on your poll I see! Saw the length of your post and I was like wow!! Then I began reading …and at the end I was again like – wow! Srsly…why dontcha take up writing ??

Leave a Reply

