Just Chillin’

Holidays. The time to relax. To get away from the hectic hustle and bustle of university life and enjoy nature, pursue long-forgotten hobbies, listen to plenty of music and watch shit-loads of TV (or, in my case, browse the ‘net). To forget about food courts and sad little bowls of maggi and eat home-cooked food. To leave all your worries behind, at least till the exam results come in. In other words, holidays are the time to, in local speak, just chill. And I’ve been chilling – oh yes, I have. In more ways than one.

When things go wrong, they go wrong in abundance. Yesterday was one of those days. My mother and I were cleaning the house to get ready for a pooja to be held today, and everything that could go wrong was going wrong. Clothes were going missing, and if they were around, they were … er, leaking. Colours, that is. Washing machines were also leaking, leaving stained, coloured water pouring all the way into neighbouring rooms. The kitchen was looking more and more like a survivor of the apocalypse. The house, instead of looking cleaner, was getting alarmingly more cluttered by the minute.

And in the middle of all of it, I stood unfazed, staring calmly at the mess, figuring out ways to fix the situation, while my mother proceeded to freak out. And then it hit me. I didn’t put much thought into it when I wrote “Calm, cool and collected” in my blog description (*points up and right*), but yesterday I realized how completely true that is.

I am calm, cool and collected. (Most of the time anway.) (And, of course, until I see a cockroach. That part is definitely true.) I don’t freak out much and I don’t usually have mental breakdowns. I’m like my father that way – he’s the kind who’ll never hurry up or worry about anything. My mother is the complete opposite – she’s the kind who’ll set a target time of half an hour before necessary so that we’ll be on time. It probably drives her nuts that he’s so matter-of-fact about everything, and it probably drives him crazy that she gets so easily worried.

I don’t know if this is a recent development or what, but I find myself less and less fazed by anything that happens around me as time goes on. Nothing bothers me too much anymore (except stupid plot points on Smallville, but that’s a whole other issue), but the thing I find myself wondering is – is that a good thing? Am I supposed to be this blasΓ© about everything? Or maybe blasΓ© isn’t the right word. I’m not apathetic or indifferent or bored with life. No, I’m just not too overly worried by the problems I face. I’m able to rationalize calmly, be matter-of-fact about everything that happens, every challenge I’m faced with.

Maybe I’m only noticing these things because I’m constantly around my Mom these days and the contrast really shows. Or maybe I really have changed in the past few years and I’ve learned to take control of things and face problems head-on. Who knows.

All I know is that I’m happy this way. I’m happy not getting worried about every little thing, I’m happy not to have a gazillion things running through my head, getting me confused and anxious. I’ll be very happy if I manage to stay this way through the years to come, through the many many problems life will throw my way. Here’s hoping.

As for now? I’m just chillin’. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Just Chillin’

  1. Clueless December 27, 2007 / 12:03 pm

    #Soleil,Hee! By that logic, next semester I’ll be calmer than ever, at least according to you! :DBut aww, of course I’ll be around for you to bang on my door. Or, in the case of next sem, bang virtually on my mail door! πŸ˜› *hugs*#Shweta,Ooh, okie. Went and checked it out – cool new layout! :DHehe, no problem. I’ve been feeling carol-deprived ever since choir practice stopped in November, so searching for some nice ones to put on the blog was a treat in itself πŸ™‚

  2. Shweta December 26, 2007 / 9:54 pm

    oh, i took a sabbatical,deleted it… indiansummers.wordpress.com and thanks for the carols. i usually prefer the originals,without any embellishments, but these are lovely.

  3. soleil December 25, 2007 / 11:27 pm

    Cool, calm and collected is a very fitting description of you πŸ™‚ I personally think that this year in particular you’re more cool, calm and collected. Or maybe it’s cos we’ve all been so busy, we spent much less time together that I didn’t get to see the freaking out Clueless as often *ponders* Or maybe it’s the fact that you now know what’s expected of you so you know how much time and effort to put into it πŸ˜‰ Either way, you’re still our dearest Clueless and I know I can bang on your door anytime :p

  4. Clueless December 25, 2007 / 1:35 pm

    #MG,Oye! Everyone’s allowed their freak-out moments when it comes to exams and results and stuff like that! The only time I remember genuinely freaking out is during that day we sat for 24 hours straight to try and finish our BioInfo project! The rest is just me trying my hand out at drama queen-ness πŸ˜€ :PHee, of course I get the reference!”Your hair’s evil!” *punch* :P#Shweta,Hee! Thank you, that’s a very nice compliment! :PAnd yes, I did like the book! Thank you for the recommendation – it wasn’t at all what I expected, but very very nice nonetheless :)Btw, what happened to your normal blog? I removed it from my blogroll because the link wasn’t working anymore 😦

  5. Shweta December 25, 2007 / 12:23 pm

    and ooh, did you like ‘curious incident of the dog…’?

  6. shweta December 25, 2007 / 12:22 pm

    wow what i would GIVE to be like you!

  7. Macho Girl December 24, 2007 / 12:42 pm

    Really? Is SV the only exception? You really think so? Hmmmm…. πŸ˜› coz i remember exam time… someone… who looked a lot like you… grabbing my shoulders and rattling me while screaming…”MG!!!!! We are so screwed MG!!!! What are we going to dooooooo!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRGH!!!! I hate this semester!” Clueless – *rattle rattle*MG – *is rattled*:P πŸ˜› πŸ˜› (u get the reference ;))I dunno how ur mom is when she freaks out. But I have heard a lot from u. It prolly is the contrast thats making it even more glaring. I wudn’t know. I guess I am like ur mom. I freak out then get annoyed that u r so matter-of-fact about it! πŸ˜‰ “AAAAAAAHHHH MG!!!! What are we going to DOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!” πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

