If It Makes You Happy …

… share it with the world! (Shameless admission: I searched for the word “happy” on my iTunes list to see if there was a song I could use as a post title. What?! I’m not always creative, people! Anway, on with the post … )

In university, the arrival of November signals impending stress and nervous breakdowns. Barely a month before exams, everyone starts to slowly realize the amount of work they have pending and the extremely short amount of time they have to complete it. And then the hysteria begins. To combat this, some people do the smart thing and start studying. Others panic and … erm, blog.

Anyway, it’s during dark and tense times like this (overdramatic, much?) that you appreciate the small, tiny things that lift your spirits and make you happy, if only for a brief period of time. As I’ve been going around, moaning and complaining about the unfairness of life in general, I’ve come to realize just how many small things make me happy. Things like

  • when you’re in lab on a particularly uninspiring day, feeling guilty about not getting any work done while everyone else seems to be working intently, and you pass by one of these “intently working” lab-mates only to notice that they’re actually intently playing Tetris on their computer and suddenly you’re flooded with compassion and love for that person, even though you barely know them.
  • when you’re worrying about the amount of work you’re going to have to put into your exams to maintain your CAP this semester, and a sudden change in the S/U policy of your university causes your CAP to go up by 0.05. It’s not a big increase and it definitely doesn’t change the amount of work you’re going to have to put into your exams , but for some reason you feel extremely relieved and an “It’s going to be alright” feeling washes over you.
  • when you stand on your weighing scale and it tells you that you’ve lost 0.5 kgs, even though you know the machine’s cranky and keeps changing its mind every 2 days and that it might tell you that you weigh a kilo more the next day.
  • when your supervisor at lab tells you out of the blue that you need to submit a 1000+ word report for your project and gives you 3 days to complete the work and you freak out about it and curse and swear at the injustice of it all, and the next day he tells you that he made a mistake and that you don’t need to submit a report till the next semester, a full 4-5 months away, and you feel an inexplicable love for the man even though you were fuming at him less than 24 hours ago.
  • when you get your new Nokia phone solely so you can have your favourite song on your ringtone, only to realize that your crappy phone doesn’t have enough memory to hold a whole song, and you fume and fret until you and your friend figure out a way to crop songs on Windows Movie Maker so that you can have the opening chords of Deep Purple’s “Smoke On The Water” as your new ringtone and you’re ecstatic about it despite the fact that your phone is almost always on silent since you spend insane hours at lab and that no one ever calls you during the few hours it is off silent mode. (Wow, that was a long sentence.)
  • when you’re chatting with a junior from your old school one day and she’s telling you about everything’s that happened since you left two years ago and she mentions in passing that she knew about you even before she came to university because your favourite teacher in school used to teach her too and he talked a lot about you and you’re completely and joyously blown by the information, because you had no idea he even remembered your name, let alone care enough to talk about you after you left school.
  • when you sign into GTalk and the mail thingy pops up and lets you know you have new comments on your latest blog post and you feel a rush of pride even though you stubbornly maintain (to everyone except MG) that you write for yourself and that “comments don’t matter”.
  • when you make a list of things that make you happy and realize your life isn’t so bad afterall, even though you know you’ll be back to cribbing in no time. For the moment, though, life seems good.

They may seem silly, but they’re the small things in life worth cherishing and remembering. Putting them down on paper – er, screen – helps, as I’ve realized from this post, one that still puts a smile on my face everytime I read it.

So, what makes you happy? πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “If It Makes You Happy …

  1. Clueless December 12, 2007 / 2:08 pm

    #MG,Heh! I thought so too, till I noticed some guy from one of the other labs playing on his comp! :PIt definitely is lovely to have a teacher remember you – it brings a smile to my face every time I think about it! :DAw, origami! Make lotsa paper thingies these hols! :D#Narayan,Good for you on the haircut! :PHehe, good list of things that make you happy! I didn’t know you were such an active doodler! :P#iRiS,Gilmore Girls! That show’s so funny! (I shall neglect to mention that I only watched that show for Jared Padalecki. Yes, I will. :P)Ah, yes. Being home now, I can fully appreciate the value of a ticket to home! :D#Kashika,Eeps. This is eons too late, but hope you had a lovely Diwali too! :D#Narayan,You too! :D#Soleil,Yes, yes! Please do! :)#Anon,I try! :)#Sanket,Heh, maybe they do! Who knows? πŸ™‚

  2. Sanket December 12, 2007 / 3:26 am

    Lovely post :)I always wonder if my teachers remember me and do they call my batch as Sanket’s batch? May be they do, I was a good student after all πŸ˜€

  3. Anonymous November 12, 2007 / 2:47 pm

    there are many things that make life happier! Please remember them and make your life happy!

  4. soleil November 12, 2007 / 1:57 am

    So many things make me happy! Maybe I should blog about it sometime…

  5. Narayan November 8, 2007 / 6:09 pm

    Happy diwali to you and yor family!!!

  6. kashika November 8, 2007 / 4:16 pm

    Happy Diwali Clueless!!

  7. iRiS November 8, 2007 / 4:12 am

    I like this positive post!Watching the gimore girls makes me happy.Having a ticket to home sweet home sitting warmly in my desk drawer makes me positively delirious!

  8. Narayan November 6, 2007 / 7:26 pm

    It’s official, I am human once again. I have successfully dragged my lazy ass to the barber and got meself a haircut and a shave. And I have returned back >:(Talking to friends makes me happy :)not to mention drawing any old thing during a boring class, be it an epic battle or stick figures fighting or drawing your weird lecturer’s face on a piece of paper, coz of which I can get caught and will most undoubtedly be thrown out of the classroom. Oh and watching english movie titles translated to tamil… That always brings a smile to my face( I watch the movie though).P.S. I will be coming to Mumbai during the dec hols. Exams finish on the 25th… Hoorah!!

  9. Macho Girl November 5, 2007 / 2:30 pm

    Hey!!! nobody plays tetris in the lab except me!!! They play online cricket πŸ˜› And it is a big deal to have your CAP go up by 0.05 in your third year! And you do look like u might have lost weight! (just choose the clothes u buy carefully from now on!):PIt does feel nice when u find out your teacher remembers you, doesn’t it? I loved the feeling too! πŸ˜€ Making paper roses makes me happy πŸ™‚ Origami makes me happy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

