Weirdo-meter: Beep, beep!

Tag! I usually like these things ‘cuz I can churn out a new post without doing too much thinking, but this one got all the little grey cells a firin’. Does everything have to involve thinking these days? And so much of it, at that? What happened to mindless, thoughtless fun? Le sigh. Anyway…

Instructions: Each player of this game starts off by giving 6 weird things about themselves. People who get tagged need to write in a blog of their own 6 weird things as well as state the rules clearly. In the end, you need to choose 6 people to be tagged and list their names. After you do that, leave them each a comment letting them know you tagged them and ask them to read your blog.

Alrighty. Six weird things. Should be a piece o’ cake, right? I mean, I’m always going on about how weird I am – so it shouldn’t be too hard to come up with just 6 to put down on the list, right? Wrong. I took ages to come up with these 6, hence the delay in getting this post out. (Sorry, Soleil! And hugs n kisses from me on your berfday! :D) But, I’ve got ’em ready now (barely!), so off we go.

1. I talk to myself. I’m not completely sure how weird this is now, since practically everyone I know has admitted to doing this, but I’m still including it on the basis that I, personally, find it pretty weird. I have a dozen friends, and am almost always with at least one of them, so I find this compulsion to talk to myself rather strange. And I talk to myself about everything under ths sun. I even recite bits of dialogue from TV shows, movies and stuff like that to myself. Just to see (or hear, I guess) what it sounds like. Aloud, at that, in case I forgot to mention that teeny detail.

2. I have the tendency to develop strong feelings of dislike at best, hatred at worst, towards the female leads on most TV shows. It’s pretty amusing, considering they’re fictional characters, but you name her, I’ve hated on her. Lana Lang from Smallville (for which a more accurate and appropriate name would’ve been LanaVille or Days of Lana’s Lives or best, Everybody Loves Lana – is my bitterness showing through?), Rachel from Friends (and come on, you cannot deny that she wasn’t just one of the three main women on the show), Liz from Roswell, Buffy from BtVS, Kate from Lost, Meredith from Grey’s Anatomy, Peyton from One Tree Hill…need I go on? There have, of course, been exceptions, but they have been few and far between.

3. Speaking of shows, I’m sure I’ve made my obsession for Smallville pretty clear around here. And yeah, I consider it weird that I’m addicted to a show that’s basically been going down the drain for the past 5 years. And that I’m still optimistic that one day the writers will suddenly pull their heads out of their collective asses and make it a show worth watching again. As MG puts it, I “watch Smallville even after openly acknowledging the fact that [I] think it has no plot or anything worth talking about and no sense of continuity.” And what’s more, I care about it enough to write 3-page mails to newbie friends condensing the first few seasons into a few thousand words, and eventually educate the newbies enough to engage in long, intellectual discussions with them about a show with no sense of direction. Gah.

4. Onto more personal things, many of my friends have told me how weird they find it that I’m not remotely tempted by the dessert menu in a restaurant. Brownies, cakes, pastries, cookies, truffles, waffles, muffins, ice-cream – they do nothing for me. Given a choice between all that and a baked potato, I’d probably reach for the baked potato.

5. I’m extremely nit-picky. And extremely choosy as to where I put that nit-pickiness to use. I can’t stand a double-space in a piece of my writing. Those green squiggly lines that MSWord loves to put under grammatical mistakes? I hate them, they freak me out. I need them all out of any essay I write, by hook or crook. I need all my Music folders properly labelled and arranged. I need to know where every file on my computer is located. I need all the songs on my iTunes playlist to be named properly and uniformly, with appropriate capitalization. And in the midst of all this, my room looks like a survivor of an asteroid attack. Yes, I have no priorities.

6. And if the above isn’t enough to satisfy you and convince you I am really that weird, this should drive the proverbial final nail into the coffin.

Yay, phew! Now for some contradiction:

You Are 50% Weird

Normal enough to know that you’re weird…
But too damn weird to do anything about it!

Apparently, BlogThings doesn’t think I’m too weird. Well, BlogThings has a weird definition of weird. So there.

Oh, not tagging anybody in particular. Most of the bloggers I know have either already done it or have been tagged, so if you don’t fall into either category, and want to do this for yourself – by all means, go ahead!

10 thoughts on “Weirdo-meter: Beep, beep!

  1. flowerchild April 19, 2007 / 9:11 pm

    hey..that’s an interestin post ….guess we’re all weird in our won ways…i can totally relate to ur number 5 :D..btw..i read ur prev post too…quite a few songs i like on ur list πŸ™‚

  2. Clueless April 16, 2007 / 3:57 pm

    #Sir Swearalot,I was all ready to come here and say, “WHAT?! HOW?? Don’t tell me the ending!”, but then you go and tell me it’s a false alarm. Heh. ;)#Soleil,Ok, I have to address #2 first. I told my Mom this when I told her I didn’t like Aishwarya Rai – I’M NOT JEALOUS! Phew. Ok, now that I’ve got that off my chest – yeah, a very very very tiny part of the Lana-hatred comes from the fact that I lurve TW. The credit for the rest of the hatred goes completely to her. Also, how does that logic apply to the other girls? I hate Ross, Buffy doesn’t have a main male lead, I don’t give a damn about McDreamy (Karev’s my kind of guy :D), Jack’s so-so and I like Nathan more than Lucas. So there, I’ve proved you wrong. :DI knew you’d understand #5. We’re nit-picky buddies! I know you’re not as bad as me, but it’s nice to have someone think I’m not totally freaky. :DAnd oh, fixed the link on #6. πŸ™‚

  3. Sir swearalot April 16, 2007 / 2:43 am

    K. False alarm… some idiot in india fed false news to news guys…. Stupid gits!!!

  4. soleil April 16, 2007 / 12:32 am

    My comment starts now:1. Hmmm… I think this point is weird cos I too talk to myself but in my head and not out loud, even when I’m alone in my room.2. Haha this I believe shows a sense of insecurity about yourself that you have to criticise and hate the female leads of TV shows cos you want the male leads all to yourself! :p We all know you LURVE Tom Welling and absolutely HATE Lana the most out of all the female leads so yeah, you get what I’m trying to say right? 3. Yup, Clueless, you totally have a Smallville I mean, Tom Welling obsession. No mistake about it.4. I think your taste buds are out of order dearie. Poor girl can’t enjoy all those wonderful creations of sugar…5. ROFL! This is why we’re lab partners, partner πŸ˜€ But I’m not as bad as you, I think. I can stand some messiness for some amount of time after which I have to clear it. I’ve realised though that you on the other hand, has to correct all the squigglies and align all the table cells to the centre there and then…6. I can’t get to the link… 😦

  5. Clueless April 15, 2007 / 2:37 am

    #Laurie,Heh, yeah. I suppose the dessert stuff is the weirdest, maybe it should’ve come first. πŸ˜‰ Also, Death to the Squiggles! #Macho Girl,Ok, 60%, but you know the story behind that! :PI’ll give you the talking to yourself thing – you even do it when other people are around, so bonus points for that! ;)Didja notice that I didn’t have a bite of the sweets at our Saturday lunch-fest? That is the power of my abstinence from the Sweet, my friend. :D#Confused Soul,Bwah, I don’t want to be that weird, lor. That picture was gross! :P#Sir Swearalot,Ok, firstly? Sir Swearalot? Bwah! Am I to expect some rapping (complete with swears, of course) from you soon? :PDreams of being famous? Oh, I’m sure all of us have had those, but I guess you could say it’s weird to be embarrassed about a fan-spotting. That just means you’re well-known, dude! If you’re gonna dream about this stuff anyway, better to dream big! And unreal! πŸ˜‰

  6. Sir swearalot April 15, 2007 / 2:16 am

    OK… I love desserts.. I think u have a pt abt being weird there… Now, my weird pt is that I always imagine that I am a world famous footballer, who has just pulled off an amazing win for my team (all these things with commentary included)… But I always almost get spotted by some nitwit or the other, making it particularly embarrassing… for me

  7. Confused Soul April 12, 2007 / 10:56 pm

    You are definitely not weird.. if you put that 60% weird picture on your blog, then I would have called you weird.. haha! I do talk to myself, but occasionally..when someone did something weird, or when I am taking my anger out.. Well, I’m off to write my list of 6 weird things.. πŸ™‚

  8. Macho Girl April 10, 2007 / 10:54 pm

    In my case, Blogthings got its facts straight. In your case however… things got a wee-bit screwed up!!!! Only 50%???!!!! (yeha right!) :PTalking to yourself aloud is not weird. I talk, scream, etc etc etc when i am alone. Sometimes i even talk to myself when I am with someone!!! Remember all the times i sing some song and then suddenly snap at myself and say “shut up!”??!! Beat that!!!!!! ;)And hey! I like baked potatoes too! But i Love chocolate icecream! What planet are you from child???!!!! *faints*Grammatical mistakes bother u that much??? Hmmmm……. can u come and read through my project report??? πŸ˜› πŸ˜› :PHere’s to the weirdest gal I have ever come across who has made weirdness an artform! (which i am still mastering! Clueless is sorta my tutor and stuff :P)

  9. Laurie April 10, 2007 / 10:40 pm

    I think #4 makes you certifiable. Oh and I hate the green squiggles too. They piss me off.

Leave a Reply

