Music Makes The People Come Together…Yeah!

Life officially sucks. I’m happiness-deprived and swimming in buckets of stress. Second year could not get much worse, and the most horrid part is that I know this is just the tip of the iceberg. Things are definitely going to get much worse, and there’s not much I can do to prevent it. Man, what a life I lead.

*sigh*

Ok, now that I’ve gotten that required amount of angst and self-pity off my chest, we can move on to better (and more interesting) things. Like music! I really need something to perk me up; what could be better?

Alert: message from the future. I’ve seen the end of this post, dear friends, and it is a long, long way away. Read on only if you wish to continue on this arduous journey and are not afraid of getting lost/falling asleep along the way.

Over the past few years, I’ve fallen in and out of love with many, many, many songs (for which my crazy friends can take credit!). And sometimes, after a long stressful day, listening to these songs can bring back so many good memories. Sub-consciously, I’ve started associating these one-hit wonders to special moments in my life and it’s great fun just thinking about the exact moment the obsession with each one of these songs began. And sometimes it’s just completely pointless obsession, really. I don’t even understand some of the songs I’ve fallen madly in love with. How does that even happen? How do you fall in love with something you cannot grasp the basic gist of? The brain…she boggles. Anyway, I want to keep a record of the madness (I did it for my favourite Hindi songs, but that was more nostalgia than madness), so I can read it when I’m old and wrinkly and laugh at my youthful stupidity.

So, in random order (oxymoron?), here goes – a list of all the songs that have affected my life one way or another (I’m gonna getcha getcha getcha! Er, sorry. Sometimes, I lose control over myself. If someone says something that also happens to be a line in a song I know, I just have to sing and finish off the line. And trust me, it drives my friends nuts!). I digress (though, is it called digressing when you do it within parentheses?). Arg! Must. Stop. Pointless. Talk. *struggles for control over glucose-deprived brain* Alright, I’m better now. Off we go!

Here Without You, 3 Doors Down – First year in Uni. MG and I had gone to one of the halls to watch the hall band (“Peroxide“) perform. At the end of the gig, while everyone was lounging around snacking, they played some random stuff on the stereo and this song happened to come on. I don’t know why, but MG and I were absolutely entranced by it. In time, it became “our” song. Ironically enough, the lyrics don’t fit us at all. Other than the very obvious fact that we’re not two star-crossed lovers wallowing in our regret, we see each other every day. To the point that people consider it a sight to behold if one of us happens to be seen without the other. And still, whenever “Here Without You” starts playing, we look at each other and flash big grins, because “our song” is on. It’s corny, I know. It’s also really really sweet.

Drops of Jupiter, Train – Ok, I blame this on Soleil. This song is beyond the reach of my understanding, but I love it to pieces. I may be dense, but I have absolutely no clue what on earth Mr. Lead Singer of Train means when he says “Now that she’s back from the atmosphere, with drops of Jupiter in her hair (air, air, air!).” Jupiter is gaseous, for Christ’s sake! Where did the darn “drops” come from?! And even if there were drops, how could they have stuck to her hair? Wasn’t she wearing…I dunno, a space-suit when she went waltzing off to space?! Complete with helmet, so she can breathe?! Gah, the song defies logic. But I’m so in love with it that it’s putting up a good show on my “Most Played” iTunes list. Logic and me are not good friends, yo.

Chasing Cars, Snow Patrol – I don’t know where the appeal of this song comes from, because it’s a completely passive song about a guy who’s basically asking his girl to come lie down with him and do nothing. Uh, ok. Great going. But deep-down, I must be a completely passive soul too, because despite the lyrics and the fact that the song is really, really slow, I lurve it. Credit goes to BubbleBurster this time, I guess, though indirectly. BB is the reason my friends and I even sat down to watch Grey’s Anatomy and bore the agony that was Meredith Grey, and I first heard this song on the show. It was played over a really sad death-scene and so every time I listen to the song, I get flashbacks of Izzie in her pink dress, lying on the hospital bed with a dead Denny. *sniff* So hauntingly beautiful.

Come What May, Nicole Kidman & Ewan McGreggor – I resisted this one, I did. It happens to be one of MG’s favourite songs, and I, for the insane reason that I was going through an anti-NK phase, refused to listen to it. Point blank refused, I say. As soon as the first few notes of the song would play on my list, I’d immediately change the track. I don’t know what got into me. And then one day, by mistake, I listened to it completely for the first time. And I fell in love with it. I kept it a secret for a while, because I didn’t want MG gloating about how she knew I’d love it when I’d gone all out to prove her wrong. And then she found out. And true to form, she gloated. Ah, but it was worth it. I listened to it on loop for hours one day, trying to perfect both NK and EM’s parts. It took me some time, but I mastered it. Now, if only the right guy will come along for me to sing it with…

Lips of an Angel, Hinder – This is a recent addiction. I’d heard the song mentioned in a few places and decided to check it out. Loved it from the start, even though it really makes you wonder if you actually should be liking it, given the lyrics. I mean, a guy all-but-cheating on his girlfriend with his ex – a bit iffy, if you ask me. Soleil pointed out to me, and I was surprised to find that I actually didn’t mind. Sure, if I was in the cheatee’s position, I’d probably be singing a different tune (no pun intended!), but from my third-person position, I see only the tragic irony of the situation. The loss, the regret, the nostalgia…and the irony. Oh, the tragic irony. (I can almost feel the poet blossoming inside me!)

You Oughta Know, Alanis Morissette – Man, this is the song that makes you want to have a boyfriend, just so you can have a bitter break-up and then go to some open space and sing this song (read: yell) at the top of your lungs. And if you don’t sing this song with all the bitter, angry, pent-up frustration you can muster, it’s not worth it. Just let Alanis do the talking for you.

Come Undone, Duran Duran – After the first thought that Duran Duran always reminds me of Durians (Singapore’s nasty-smelling fruits) passes from my brain, I realize that this is another one of those lost cases as far as the “true meaning” of the song is concerned. I understand neither head nor tail of it, and the video just makes it ten times worse. Why is the chained girl floating like a dead corpse in water? What’s with all the huge, scary-looking fish? What does it all mean, and why is it so creepy?! *takes moment to recover* I have no clue. But I love the song. It’s haunting, it makes no sense and it’s creeptastic – but those are what make it so beautiful. Love.

Stan, Eminem – Oh, man. This one goes back ages! I think I heard my first Eminem song when I was 13, and to my tender, un-corrupt ears, it was pure blasphemy. Oh, how I’ve grown since then. “Stan” became my favourite Eminem song of all time, just because of the brilliant story woven into it. It tells a story of depression, anger, pain and insanity and boy, does it have a catchy ending. Story-telling at it’s best, yo. Solid *beep*. Dido’s haunting chorus just adds to the beauty. To me, it totally sounds out of place in her “Thank You” song, because I’ve grown so accustomed to listening to it in “Stan”.

Superman, Five For Fighting – The perfect, perfect, perfect song for Smallville’s Clark Kent, and to a lesser extent, Superman in general. (And this is why YouTube rocks.) (Clark tends to whine more, so this song is more apt for him than Love-The-Earth, buddy-buddy Supes.) As has been proven before, I’m a big Smallville junkie, and can obsess over anything that is remotely related to it. Hence the mega-love for this song. Plus, the lines “Find a way to lie, ’bout a home I’ll never see” never fails to bring me to tears and want to give Supes a giant hug and a teddy bear. My friends and I are still wondering why Superman would willingly go digging for Kryptonite, though, so if you have any answers on that front, do let me know, will ya? And speaking of Superman, how can I forget…


Save Me, Remy Zero
– Smallville’s theme song! I started out really, really liking the song (because of my love-by-proxy rule with Smallville), and I still do love listening to it, but when you decide to go on a SV marathon and watch three DVDs at one shot, and every time the menu pops up, the chorus of this song starts blaring loudly…well, it can get pretty tiring. But even so, what an awesome song. And it’s one of the most unsingable songs I know, too. I challenge anybody to sing “Somebody saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaave me!” in tune, ‘cuz it’s really not possible to do it without exaggerating. And exaggeration, unfortunately, isn’t very musical. Anyway, singable or not, definitely a song to go on the permanent record.

Ahem. Yikes. This post is getting way too long. Maybe I’ll do a Part Two someday (there are so, so, so many more!) Or, maybe not. This is enough music to last a while, eh? Well, if I’ve inspired any of you to check out a song you haven’t heard before, or pick up that long-forgotten CD and listen to the song you once listened to on loop years ago, I’m a satisfied girl. Whenever things get you down, there’s always music to cheer you right up, isn’t there? πŸ™‚

So, as Eminem says…

Sing for the moment,
Sing for the year,
Sing for the laughter,
Sing for the tears,
Sing with me, just for today…

Darn it, I wish I had a karaoke-machine.

11 thoughts on “Music Makes The People Come Together…Yeah!

  1. Paddyman May 19, 2007 / 3:20 pm

    atually, the last eminem chorus is an Aerosmith song, Dream On(like the dido chorus for Stan). Listen to the aerosmith song, I think you will like it better :)- Rushi

  2. Clueless April 10, 2007 / 12:25 pm

    #Iris,OMG! I’ve been wondering for days if I know you, and I’ve just found out! I didn’t know you had a blog! Awesome! I’m using way too many exclamation marks! Heh!And yup, music is ze BEST way to de-stress. No doubt. :D#Jewel Rays,Ooh. Out of curiosity, which one don’t you like? πŸ˜›

  3. Jewel Rays April 4, 2007 / 3:15 pm

    Wow..I love all the songs except one..WOw really and i so agree that music perks us up or something could weigh us down big time..Cheers!! interesting blog:)

  4. iRiS March 31, 2007 / 4:56 pm

    I caught this post a month after you published it. And I haven’t been able to stop playing lips of an angel over and over again since last night.What a great de-stress” post! =)

  5. soleil March 21, 2007 / 11:01 pm

    Tag! You’re it! Go read my blog πŸ™‚

  6. Clueless March 18, 2007 / 11:46 pm

    #Sis,Hey, I never said the love for that song was logical! I think it’s a crappy concept too – the miracle is that I’m able to overlook that tiny fact to enjoy the rest of the song! ;)I’ve only heard Alejandro Sanz in “La Tortura” – I’ll check out the other stuff soon!

  7. Anonymous March 14, 2007 / 11:25 am

    darling,i have to completely disagree about that horrid lips of an angel song. if someone’s lips are gonna make this guy lose his grasp on a relationship he’s gotten into, what kinda creep is he anyway? either break up with your girlfriend or get past the damn lips already! as your older wiser (ahem) cousin, i’m afraid i can’t allow you to like this song…ooh ooh, alejandro sanz!!!!!!!! the guy who sang with shakira (or as i call her, Shaki) in La Tortura has and has had for a while his own solo career and he’s goooood….his song Universo de Pequenas Cosas ( Universe of Small Things) has my mind in a headlock. check it out…

  8. Clueless March 6, 2007 / 2:53 pm

    #MG,Oh my God, the videos. I totally forgot about the Superman one. What a butchery they did of it! And remember Alanis M’s “Ironic” video? So completely pointless. I haven’t seen the videos to half these songs on my list, and sometimes I think I don’t really want to, ‘cuz I have way more fun imagining stuff in my head. ;)And yeah, here’s to “Here Without You”. And I’d love to read a lyrics-modification post! Get crankin’, woman! :)#Soleil,Yay Train! And yay to undecipherable songs! :DAnd yeah, you gave me “Chasing Cars” and probably every other song I’ve fallen madly in love with. You (and your sisters :P) rock! :D#Confused Soul,Haha! No permission to skip, baby! You’ll have to put up with my long posts, just as we put up with your lam..er, “ingenious” jokes! :PThe V-day Antakshari was so much fun! I had a blast that day, sitting on whatever you call those things, just us four girls, singing our hearts out. We should do more nights out like that! πŸ™‚

  9. Confused Soul March 3, 2007 / 12:33 pm

    Noooooo that’s tooo long a post to read!! Can I skip this one? πŸ˜› Lol! Guess that’s the wierdest comment you’ve ever received!!As I always say… Music is the soul of my life! Can’t live without it! This post reminds me of v-day this year and how we sang songs by the swings.. πŸ™‚

  10. soleil March 1, 2007 / 1:16 pm

    Woohoo! Here’s to Drops of Jupiter!!! πŸ˜€ I have no idea how I totally fell in love with that song. I used to think I would never have a favourite song cos there were just SOOOOOOO many that I liked. Now I can proudly say I have a favourite song *beaming with pride* I love your list! I gave you Chasing Cars remember? πŸ˜‰ Most of the songs you have in your list I really like too!!! Its not uncommon to have Clueless bursting into song so we’re kinda used to it now. Its more fun when we join in!

  11. Macho Girl March 1, 2007 / 2:37 am

    Now i know what to get someone for her birthday!!! πŸ˜‰ :PBrilliant! I had no idea what to expect when u asked me about the songs u have obsessed over. Totally worth the wait!!! Love every one of em in ur list! Though i do think the superman original video was rather disappointing. There is just so much potential in that song!!!!!!!!! Damn! Why didnt they make me the director of that video or something?! :PMaybe someday I will get down to posting about my list… or nah… too boring… i guess i might post on the weird lyrics modification that I am so fond of doin!!!And here’s to our song!!! Long live peroxide for introducing us to iT!! i know we have said this to each other about a million times… but.. all the same…CAN U BELIEVE THAT WE JUST HAPPENED TO CHANCE UPON OUR SONG??!!!!Wonder what life wud be like without these obsessions… thanks for bringing them into my life πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

