In Memoriam

Gasp. No.

They cannot do this. They cannot shake my faith like this. They cannot suddenly come up to me and tell me that what I’ve been led to believe was right for 19 years, was actually wrong all along. They cannot just pull the rug from under my feet. The next thing I know, they’ll be telling me “E=mc2” isn’t true, either. (Hasn’t there been talk about it already?) We’re living in a world where anything is possible, people. Anything.

And what about the next generation? How can they deny the little ones the joy of learning about nine planets? I can only imagine how the classes would go:

“There are eight planets in the Solar System.”

Dear Lord. Just…so wrong. I’m mortified. Whatever will happen to “My Very Elegant Mother Just Showed Us Nine Planets”? Gone. Ruined. All hope is lost.

Pluto. Dear, sweet Pluto. Relegated from “The Last Planet In The Solar System” to “Dwarf Planet”. Sniff. What a bummer.

Goodbye, Pluto. We’ll certainly remember you, you tiny little thing, for the icy wonder that you were. Wherever you’re headed now, I wish you well. Don’t let those nasty scientists get you down. Great things lie ahead, Pluto. Go out and fulfil your dream. Hang out with the Dwarf Club and make us all proud. I have faith in you.

Goodbye, dear friend. We’ll miss you.

7 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. Clueless September 2, 2006 / 9:31 pm

    #Nitin,Ha! That’s one way of putting it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nitin R.K. August 31, 2006 / 1:56 am

    The fellowship has broken (Lord of the rings). The nine have separated into eight plus one.

  3. Clueless August 27, 2006 / 3:46 pm

    #MG,am sure pluto is very deeply touched and is shedding tears of joy as it lifts a pen to sign into the Dwarf Club :PHee! I just got a really funny visual of Pluto sniffing into a hanky while signing a form! :PWhat inspired me to write this? Heh, I dunno. I guess I just heard about what happened and well…it ‘clicked’! ;)#Soleil,I know Pluto will survive – the fact that saddens me is that it’s no longer part of the nine planets of our Solar System! *sniff*Hmm, mnemonic for eight planets…”My Very Elegant Mother Just Showed Us Neptune”? Gah, it’s so bad. I miss Pluto.

  4. soleil August 26, 2006 / 10:31 am

    Pluto will survive! (even if its just a dwarf planet) Let’s see what interesting mnemonic people come up with for only 8 planets…

  5. Macho Girl August 25, 2006 / 3:23 pm

    :|=))Wow! So much drama for that distant and tiny little planet???!!! One entire blog post dedicated to it???? Haha! I am sure pluto is very deeply touched and is shedding tears of joy as it lifts a pen to sign into the Dwarf Club :P(whatever inspired u to write something like this??!!)

Leave a Reply

