National Day

August 9th is Singapore’s National Day. This year, 2006, Singapore celebrated its 41st year of independence. And I celebrated one year of having survived in a foreign land, away from my parents and my home. Singapore welcomed me with open arms last year, and I have thoroughly enjoyed every bit of my life here. Of course, it doesn’t compare to staying in my home country, in my home, with my parents and friends, but I won’t complain. I have no regrets whatsoever about coming here.

Having missed the National Day celebrations last year, my friends and I were quite keen on going to the Esplanade this year to catch the festivities. So Macho Girl, Bubble Burster, Confused Soul (CS) and I decided that we weren’t going to sit at home and bum this time; we were going to have a great night out. Sudden inspiration struck CS and she ordered all of us to comb through our closets and find something red and white so as to show our support for our beloved home away from home.

Singapore’s national colours – red and white

All of us obediently agreed, and within a short while, were ready with our ensembles. I was quite sure we’d look like clowns walking around in similar looking outfits, but when we got to our destination, we fit in quite well due to the enormous number of people donning red and white!

The Red and White Brigade!


We got to Boat Quay by cab, and walked our way to the Esplanade. I swear, I’ve never seen so many people all at one place anywhere else in Singapore. Everyone was milling around, enjoying the festive atmosphere. And the splendid river-side view.


The Fullerton Hotel resides in this area. Man, one day, when my friends and I have won the joint Nobel Prize for whatever, we’re gonna come over here and spend a day in the penthouse. And make full use of room service, taxes be damned. Ahem. One can dream, right?


Day-dreaming all the time, we made our way through the thick crowd and slowly approached the Esplanade. Modeled on Singapore’s national fruit, the durian, it is a marvelous sight and a must-see for all visitors to the country. It is probably the prettiest thing I’ve seen so far in Singapore, and for good reason. I mean, just look at it!


The Merlion is another must-see. Half mermaid, half lion. Odd combination, but it’s still a very pretty sight. And very close to the Esplanade!


We settled ourselves on the walkway near the river, and waited for the fireworks to start. While we were waiting, an incredible thing happened. The moon rose. Ok, ok, that’s not the biggest surprise in the world, but I’ve never, ever seen such a beautiful moon-rise in my life as the one I saw that day. The sky wasn’t very clear that day, but I couldn’t have asked for a prettier sight. Throughout the whole thing, while the moon passed in and out of clouds, I stood spell-bound.

Doesn’t this look like something out of a werewolf movie? I kept thinking of Lupin throughout the moon-rise. Ah, well. Once an HP addict, always an HP addict, I guess. πŸ˜›

CS then took this absolutely wonderful picture of the Merlion with the moon in the background. A picture I consider an absolute gem, one of the best of the night. I now want a poster like this to adorn the walls of my house, as a souvenir! Too good.


Then the fireworks started. To our dismay, the Oriental building blocked most of our view, with the result that we only got to see part of the fireworks. All the photos we took made it look like the building was on fire! Even worse, the fireworks lasted for barely five minutes.


We were a bit disappointed that we couldn’t watch the fireworks in their entirety (‘cuz from what we could see, they were beautiful), and that the whole thing didn’t last longer. It didn’t matter much, though. The fact that we’d made it and that we were having a good time prevented us from getting too bitter.

We took a nice, long walk after that and got ourselves some dinner. After that, we came back to the Esplanade and sat by the river-side, enjoying ice-cream, popcorn and cotton candy and of course, the brilliant view. Skyscrapers just cannot get prettier than this.


It’s a beautiful feeling, just sitting near the Esplanade, feeling the cool breeze blowing through your hair, and with some good company, you can forget your problems and fears for a while, and just enjoy that feeling of peace that comes with complete content. It cannot be described in words; it has to be experienced. I’m glad I got a chance to experience it, and I’m even happier that I got to do it with my closest friends here.

Thank you, Singapore, for giving me everything I could’ve hoped for. I wasn’t sure I was doing the right thing when I first came here, but you’ve convinced me otherwise. For that, and for everything else, thank you.

And oh, one more thing. Happy Birthday. πŸ™‚

P.S: Thanks to MG and CS for all the wonderful pictures. You guys are brilliant photographers in the making!

10 thoughts on “National Day

  1. apalana August 19, 2006 / 8:00 pm

    “It cannot be described in words; it has to be experienced.”You said it clueless.

  2. Ekta August 16, 2006 / 9:36 am

    Hey I was in singapore for a short vacation aound 2 weeks back nd had a blast…loved the city and yes did see the merlion and boat quay…at night with all the lights it looks beautiful!Happy independence day(belated wishes!):-)

  3. Clueless August 16, 2006 / 2:25 am

    #Prithz,Wow! I had no idea you blogged! Nice to see you in these parts, considering I almost never get to see you in person! :PAnd I’ll be waiting for those pics! :)#Sowmya,It is, isn’t it? I just feel the country is so much prettier by night. I haven’t watched Krrish (don’t know why I have this strange reluctance to just go and watch it), so I don’t know what exactly they showed, but if they didn’t show all this stuff…man, they missed out on a lot.All said and done, there’s nothing like actually seeing things in person, with your own eyes…so get your butt down here, so we can do some quality bonding cum shopping cum exploring together! πŸ˜€

  4. sowmya August 14, 2006 / 11:57 pm

    WOW. Singapore is beautiful..where the hell was all this in Krrish? And great writing, sis, and great red and white ensembles for you and your friends. Hug.

  5. prithz August 13, 2006 / 11:07 pm

    Ahhhhh!!!! S’pore is too good i must say… very picturesque… But i guess u guys took the wrong spot to catch the fireworks… i managed to catch a beautiful spot and clicked some pics… shall share wid ya soon in ma blog… take care… tataaaaaa.. πŸ™‚

  6. Clueless August 13, 2006 / 2:02 pm

    #MG,”In the making” only. Don’t want to get your ego up too high. :PAnd yep, you got it right! GMTA! That’s how we’re going to win the Nobel Prize together! :D#CS,Man, I completely forgot about the piranhas! I did remember the ‘peeing Merlion’ though, but for obvious reasons, decided not to include it in my post. :P#Soleil,We did! And I really wish you could’ve been there with us. I know you would’ve enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

  7. soleil August 13, 2006 / 1:55 pm

    Sounds like you guys had lots of fun! That’s great πŸ˜€

  8. Confused Soul August 13, 2006 / 2:49 am

    We sure did have an awesome time.. right from showing off to our friends that we were all dressed in red and white [being the patriotic people that we are :P]; to enjoying the food, fireworks, stupid couplets and lame jokes [With CS around, you are bound to have those!], piranhas swimming in the water :P,the beautiful moon,our hunt for handsome hunks :P,imitations of bikes racing with my grunt,lol, wondering how a mermaid actually pees,lol, taking some amazing pictures,and loads of other amazing memories.. :)We rock! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  9. Macho Girl August 12, 2006 / 10:16 pm

    GMTA dudette!!!! Thats why we wrote almost the same comments on each others blog at almost the same time! :D;)

  10. Macho Girl August 12, 2006 / 10:11 pm

    Brilliant photographers “in the making”??? Think again, m’dear… think again ;)amazing evening, amazing company, amazing photographs and amazing post. Not to mention, amazing memories… The other members or the Red and White brigade are the best things that happened to me since I came here. You guys rock!:)

Leave a Reply

