Ek shaam, Shaan ke naam!


Shantanu Mukherjee. Popularly known to many as Shaan. One of the most brilliant Indian singers I’ve ever heard. And yesterday, I had the wonderful chance of seeing him. Live in concert.

Shaan in Singapore!!! Wooohooo!! 😀

After grabbing an early dinner at Komalas, Sayesha and I made our way to Kallang Stadium ahead of time, and like typical girls, spent around 20 minutes looking for the place the actual concert was to be held. (I for one, am a total direction dud…I can never find any place by myself, even if its staring me right in the face!!) When we finally got to the right place huffing and puffing (our seats were on the highest levels), we had to wait another 15 mins for the guards to start letting people in. My enthusiasm was already fading…all the waiting around was quicky sapping me of the bouncy energy I’d felt when I’d first gotten out of the cab.

My enthusiasm dropped another notch when, all settled and ready for Shaan, we were forced to endure MPM and the Rangers. The less that’s said about them, the better…they were absolutely miserable. Well, to be fair, MPM had a pretty nice voice, but singing three full songs when the whole audience is impatiently waiting for Shaan, is stretching it a bit too much. After a lot of booing from the audience, she left…and in came Shaan.

The man is a living dream. He’s cute. He writes and composes his own songs, and sings them to magical perfection. And as he showed us in the concert, he can hold his own on the dance floor. He’s got a pretty decent bod too, which he flaunted for us when he took off his jacket for a Salman Khan number. He made several references to his wife, all of which made us in the audience go ‘Awww!!’ Needless to say, I had already fallen hopelessly in love.

He sang all my favourite songs. All of them. Movies, albums, everything. I sat in that hall for 2 hours in peaceful bliss. Shaan’s got his way of making you forget about everything when he sings. All thoughts of my impending German test, which had been plaguing me all through the day, flew out the window. I even managed to ignore the blasted Rangers. For 2 hours, I listened to an amazing man croon amazing melodies…most of which I’m sure will carry me through many many years. I hummed along in some bits, but most of the time I just sat there open-jawed, at a loss for words to describe this miracle man.

Ah, what a day. It was amazing. I came back to my hostel happy as could be. I owe that happiness to three people.

To you-know-who, thank you sooo much for the ticket. I had a wonderful time and I wish you could’ve been there too.

To Sayesha, thanks for being such wonderful company. I don’t know if I’d have enjoyed the concert as much if you hadn’t been around.

And lastly, to Shaan. You made my day, man. Keep making beautiful melodies and singing them in that angelic voice, cuz you know what?

I’ll always be there to listen to them. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Ek shaam, Shaan ke naam!

  1. Deepu February 25, 2006 / 9:31 pm

    hey cool yaar.. tht wud have been such an awesome time for u.. Enjoy yaar. Here no such concert takes place. Even if it takes place i bet Shaan wud not come here..

  2. AnN@ February 20, 2006 / 12:29 pm

    why is it that money is always needed to do the fun things we want? first france and now concert… I’m surprised all the banks haven’t been robbed yet :p

  3. Clueless February 19, 2006 / 7:26 pm

    #macho girl,Believe me, I’m all for screaming along in concerts…but this one was composed of nice, goody people all sitting in their seats and nodding along to the music!! Not that that’s a bad thing…just that in order to scream in a concert, you gotta have the right type of audience to scream along with!! (Though, I must say, the crowd gave a pretty mighty ‘boo’ when MPM was on stage! Poor girl!! :P)#ann@,You’ve had school concerts? Wow…we didn’t have any! 😦 But yeah, we should all go to a nice concert sometime where we can scream our heads off. Only thing left to do: loot a bank and get hold of lotsa money needed for front-row seats!! :P#bubbleburster (bwah! great name for you!! :D)Join me in the looting plan?? ;)#The Girl,Heeeey!! Welcome!! 😀 And well, duh. If he hadn’t sung Tanha Dil, half the crowd would’ve mobbed him! :PHee hee…wasn’t even thinking of dear ol’ Voldy when I typed that!! (HP fan, much??) Ok ok, so it should’ve probably read ‘To you-know-who-you-are’, but it just doesn’t sound as cool, ya know?? 😉

  4. The Girl Who Sold The World February 19, 2006 / 6:07 pm

    Shaan is among the very few Indian singers whom I truly ADORE!!! He’s awesome! Okay, stupid question: did he play Tanha Dil?:P Hehe…I’m sure he must have…it’s such a LOVELY song. To you-know-who??? Lord Voldemort got you the ticket?! WOW!!! :-O 😛

  5. bubbleburster February 14, 2006 / 11:30 pm

    hey…good to hear u had such an awesome time..concerts are fun..there’s a different energy with soo many ppl arnd..i agree with macho..we should all go sometime

  6. AnN@ February 13, 2006 / 11:45 pm

    I’ve never been to a concert before! (school concerts aren’t counted) i’m jealous! :p hee really really glad you had a blast! 😀

  7. Macho Girl February 13, 2006 / 9:25 pm

    good to hear that u had a blast! U were sitting and humming along??????? Whenever i go to concerts, I sing along with the artist (aka screaming and yelling in the concert over the deafening roar of the fans and also the excellent sound system!).Normally, for a couple of days after any concert, I am hoarse. But sometimes it is nice to just sit and listen quietly or sing quietly to yourself. i did that when Shaan sang Gumsum ho kyon when i went for his concert 🙂 When he sang Tanha Dil, the entire auditorium was singing along with him!! :D:DHope we get to go for a concert together. Then we can have a singing (aka “screaming”) contest!! :D:D

Leave a Reply

