Miss Uncontactable!

Motorola A668. My phone. My very first phone. My only phone.

I saw it at the Star-Hub store in China Town. Sitting there, all small and pretty, beckoning me to buy it. I set my heart on it that very moment. Partly because it was so tiny and cute and partly because it was a flip-phone. I don’t know why, but I have this huge fascination for flip phones…and its users.

Tring tring. Flip. Talk. Super cool!


So, ignoring my brother’s constant dire hints that a Nokia phone is more user-friendly, I went ahead and chose the Motorola one. And it worked splendidly. I had no problems with it, and people admired it wherever I went. All good going.

Till one day two months ago, when it just stopped working. No previous warning. No slow deterioration. Just like that, it went caput. And my heart broke.

I didn’t go to get it repaired at that time because I was busy with exam preparations. After that, I left for India. Now I’m back, and it still sits sadly on my table, looking misleadingly normal. I gotta go get the thing fixed. Not just for my sake or the phone’s, but for those dear friends whose lives I’ve managed to disrupt, by becoming what they now call, ‘Miss Uncontactable’.

We have invented bizarre ways for them to keep in contact with me everyday. But I know their patience is waning, and frankly, so is mine. I hate that I can’t contact someone as and when I like it. I hate that someone can’t contact me as and when they like it. And sometimes, this dependence scares me. For seventeen years, I lived without a handphone, without even an inclination to buy one. Four months of owning one has changed all that. Now I can’t imagine life without it.

But hey, I made it through these past two months without it. I’m still getting by, aren’t I? And that’s the thing to remember. For all you phone-addicts out there, whose lives revolve around your phone, I’m your inspiration. If it ever comes to happen that your phone conks out (touch wood!), panic not. Be it an hour, a day, a month or a year before you get it repaired, I assure you that you will live to see it work again.

I made it through the crisis. So can you. πŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “Miss Uncontactable!

  1. Clueless January 15, 2006 / 1:05 pm

    #sayesha,sorry abt the msg!! my phone’s alright now…so yay!!and i got to know only a few weeks back that my dad reads ur blog…i didnt even know he read mine!! but dont worry…with a blog like urs, u should just be concerned about fan mail!! ;)#SA,Ha! U finally commented!! Macho Girl was telling me about you, but she didnt let on anything except for the fact that i dont know u from before. so nice to be hearing from you!! keep commenting!! πŸ™‚

  2. SA January 14, 2006 / 2:03 am

    phones can be troublesome things.. when they are not working that is.. whether lanline or hand phone. and it is quite irritating when you can’t contact someone when you need something or need to urgently convey the message. being what your friends call “miss. uncontactable” must have been pretty annoying for you. I can relate to this incident. nice to finally comment here! hope u become Miss. Contactable soon! Hope there is nothing seriously wrong with ur phone

  3. Sayesha January 12, 2006 / 12:57 pm

    No wonder!!!!!!I was wondering why you didn’t reply to my sms! Become contactable soon, m’lady! :)ps: Heard the shocking news that your Dad reads my blog. On some levels, I am still freaking out. But I guess, now your Mom can read it too πŸ™‚

  4. Clueless January 11, 2006 / 12:20 am

    #horace finkle,//Flip phones are the best.Amen to that. :D#viv,going, going….gone!! :)#macho girl,u forgot ‘Miss Independent’!!! πŸ˜› But yeah, its kinda cool being called Miss Anything…makes u feel special! :)#ann@,haha…yeah, i have u to thank for the title!! i dont know why, but the name just stuck with me, and i decided to come out of my stupor of the past month and write a post about the phone we’ve all been bitching about the last cupla days!!And yeah, i guess what ur saying is right. *sigh*. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that the Motorola ppl are as kind as i want to believe they are, and they do the repairing for free πŸ˜›

  5. AnN@ January 11, 2006 / 12:10 am

    wow i didn’t know that you’d blog about a name i gave you on the spur of the moment πŸ™‚ yup, you’re finally getting it fixed! but i must re-iterate that if the repairs are going to cost more than a brand new NOKIA phone, then i’d rather you get the NOKIA phone even if its not a flip phone :p then you can be “Miss Contactable with a Nokia phone” πŸ˜€

  6. Macho Girl January 10, 2006 / 4:03 pm

    i used to like the look of ur phone. yeah.. it was damn cute. don’t worry about being “miss uncontactable”. consider it a title for u!! πŸ˜‰ there’s miss world… miss universe… and now… presenting… MISS UNCONTACTABLE! (the crown goes wild!:P) we’ll get that phone fixed asap!

  7. viv January 10, 2006 / 3:34 pm

    Get it fixed baba… You’re uncontactable AND you pay monthly subscription for that! πŸ™‚

  8. Horace Finkle January 10, 2006 / 1:41 pm

    You’ll love the phone. Flip phones are the best.- Horace Finkle, Teenage GhostFor a good laugh, call:www.horacefinkle.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

