Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Warning : extremely long post ahead. Joblessness is an absolute requirement. If you got work to do, then turn right back and come back later. If you, like me, ain’t got nothing to do, then go right ahead…enjoy!!

I finally saw HP4 a few days ago. I’m in the mood for criticism, so I’m gonna do a review of the movie…just for my own pleasure, and for the information of those few people who trust my judgment. 😉

I’d have to give this movie an ‘E’. For all my Harry Potter-impaired friends out there, that stands for ‘Exceeds Expectations’. But then again, after the last 3 movies, I wasn’t very optimistic about this one. I was in for a surprise. The movie was well shot, and stuck to the book plot for a fairly consistent amount of time.

My biggest complaint about all the Harry Potter movies so far has been the deviation from the original book plots. Fans of HP will agree when I say that its irksome to see the directors swivel away from the original far-more-interesting story line, that too to introduce a cheesy romantic plot in the story, one that’s non-existent in the book.

I think this is the biggest disadvantage of making a book into a movie – it destroys the reader’s imagination. Before the movies came out, I had this whole visual in my head of what Hogwarts would look like, what Harry and co. would look like and how they’d behave. But then the movies came. And now, whenever I think of Harry Potter, pop! Daniel Radcliffe pops into mind. Same with all the other characters. It’s annoying, but then again, I chose to go see the movies, so I have only myself to blame.

Thankfully, the latest movie is good. Not fantastic, but better than the other three. And that’s a step in the right direction.

The Good:

The three lead actors – They’ve grown through the four movies, and their performance in this movie is their best so far. They are more believable in their roles – DR himself shows much more emotion than he’s shown in the past 3 movies. Good job, people.

Neville Longbottom – I don’t know why, but I’ve started to really like this guy. The actor and the character. All the Neville scenes in the movie were good, but I liked the scene with Moody after the DADA class in which he shows them the Unforgivable Curses. The guy is totally believable. Good job.

Cedric Diggory – Ah, what can I say? When I first saw the promos for the movie, I thought Cedric didn’t look all that handsome and was a tad too old to play the part. Well, I eat my words. He looked just the right age on screen, and he’s VERY good-looking. Made the movie worth watching. Hee. *swoon* Ok, I admit it. I’m shallow. 😀

The Weasley twins – Splendid job by the two guys. They crack me up. They’re not exactly like I pictured them to be in my head, but 3 movies later, I’ve grown used to them. The part with McGonagall teaching Ron to dance was quite funny, despite the fact that it isn’t present in the book. (Additions like these usually make me quite averse to these scenes.)

Mad-Eye Moody – First time I’ve ever been able to relate one of the supporting actors to a character in the book. Good performance by the actor – I detected the right mix of tough guy and kindred soul in the character. Well played, Mr. Gleeson.

The Dursleys – Rather, their absence. I think it was a good move by the director to omit the Dursleys in this movie. Don’t get me wrong…the Dursley parts in the book are very enjoyable and provide a lot of insight on the characters, but if something’s gotta be omitted, I’d rather it was the Dursleys, than say, one of the tasks. Speaking of which…

The three tasks – Newell did justice to the three tasks. I was afraid he’d compromise on them for something like the Yule Ball. But I needn’t have feared – Newell gave due importance to all three tasks and the special effects were just brilliant. Kept me on the edge of my seat. Well, not really…but you know what I mean. 🙂

The Bad:

Dumbledore – Aaaaaah!!! I’ve never liked movie-Dumbledore – he does no justice to book-Dumbledore, who’s among the most likeable characters in the books – but this time over, movie-Dumbledore just grated on my nerves. He doesn’t portray the enigmatic, funny, witty and charming man he’s supposed to play. And he’s got an American accent, complete with the rolling Rs. I actually went “WTF???” when he said Harrrrry Paaadder. You’re supposed to be British, damn it!!

Emma Watson – I don’t know if its just me, but I thought she delivered all of her lines in a flustered, jittery voice. Angry, sad, happy, scared…same tone. She usually plays Hermione well, but this time, I think Watson was a step down from her usual performance.

Barty Crouch Jr. – He was in Harry’s dream? Huh? Harry’s not supposed to see him till he is revealed to be the fake-Moody at the end!! Well, I guess we’ll just have to chalk it up to the ‘deviations’ that I was talking about earlier.

Viktor Krum – Too bulky. And stony faced. I don’t think I detected a trace of emotion throughout the movie. Ah, well…it can’t all be perfect, right?

Well, there you go. The good overweighs the bad. All in all, a movie to watch. Preferably with friends – they make the bad seem…well, less bad. I have no regrets about watching the movie; I just hope to God the next one is as good, if not better.

And sorry for the extremely long review…I’ll never make it as a film critic. Sigh. Oh well…I’ll settle for film-watcher for now. 😉

13 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. Clueless January 9, 2006 / 11:37 am

    #gus,thanks!! :)#precious being,wow, i totally forgot about S.P.E.W and Dobby…guess I was too excited about Cedric…*blush*now that i think about it, there were a lot of aspects that i guess i didnt pay much attention to, but knew somewhere deep down that something was missing…if u know what i mean…damn, now i’m depressed too.. 😦

  2. Sandai-Kozhi January 4, 2006 / 11:21 am

    wow…nice to know that im not the only one who thought Emma had a slip down in Hp4.but in the contrary, i thought the GoF was a bit dissapointing. seeing the 3rd, i had MUCH MUCH more expectations…which clearly wasnt satisfied in the movie. i was so dejected, i felt like walkin out..when they skipped out S.P.E.W and dobby and winky. =(..*tear*how can they? tisk

  3. gus December 16, 2005 / 2:47 pm

    enthusiastic blogging!!Seemed to be all charged up….Cluless keep up the great work!!

  4. Clueless December 9, 2005 / 8:45 pm

    #macho girl and ann@,looks like i dont need to mediate anymore!! Mr/Miss. Anonymous seems to be doing the job pretty well!! :Dand Anonymous…dont worry, we’re doing this just for fun…after all, it IS another way of keeping in touch, right?? 🙂

  5. Anonymous December 8, 2005 / 8:40 pm

    why do u girls fight over leaving comments first? All that is important is that you provide a good,thoughtful comment, OK?

  6. Macho Girl December 8, 2005 / 4:56 pm

    yep!! just a harmless little healthy competition!! 😀

  7. AnN@ December 7, 2005 / 8:34 pm

    we’re not fighting… juz friendly competition rite macho girl? 😉

  8. Macho Girl December 7, 2005 / 12:34 pm

    btw.. jus noticed something!//ain’t got nothing to do!!I never expected that in ur post! looks like someone’s influence is rubbing on to u! 😀 (i ain’t saying nothing! :P)

  9. Clueless December 6, 2005 / 2:25 pm

    #macho girl,i completely forgot about ginny and voldemort!!!! i should’ve written this post the day i saw the movie…that way, i would’ve had all the details fresh in my mind! but yeah…i thought they laid a good foundation for ginny in this movie; i can easily see her become one of the core characters in the next one! i wasn’t too disappointed with voldemort though…i didnt really have this clear image of him in my head…he was just this odd, floating object without a body…and somehow movie-Voldemort seemed quite convincing to me…oh well, to each his own i suppose :)#ann@,chill chill!! u’ll make it next time! i think macho girl got here first because i told her abt my post over yahoo! ;)but i agree with the points u’ve mentioned too..god, a lot has slipped my mind since i saw the movie!! i really loved the World Cup too…i didnt expect it to be soooo huge! i just wish they’d shown a little bit more of it, though…we hardly had a shot of Krum zoomind around before we got to the next scene!And relax girls! no fighting on clueless’ blog!!! 😀

  10. Macho Girl December 6, 2005 / 12:49 pm

    Haha.. looks like there is gonna be a competition on who’s first in clueless’ blog!! me or ann@!!!Clueless, watch out!! U will have to be the judge! 😉

  11. AnN@ December 6, 2005 / 1:16 am

    oh damn machogirl beat me to it :p

  12. AnN@ December 6, 2005 / 1:15 am

    yay! for the first time i’m the first to comment 😀 not that it really matters but it does feel good to be first once in a blue moon. me, like you really enjoyed the movie. so much so that i didn’t mind watching it a second time. i also agree that Dumbledore isn’t so likeable in the movie and that Hermione is always flustered, among other things you’ve mentioned. let me just add a few things that maybe you’ve left out cos the post was getting too long. 1. i love it that the Asian characters went to the Yule Ball in their ethnic costumes! like Parvati was in her sari and Cho was in a dress with a cheong sam type collar.2. maybe its cos i took french before but the french accents in the movie were really cool. think of Fleur saying “Au revoir Ron” with the “r”s more nasal ;)3. the Quidditch World Cup was better thatn in my imagination!that’s all i can think of for now but i’ll let you know if i think of other things.

  13. Macho Girl December 6, 2005 / 1:09 am

    u put HP4 under the microscope! But i guess u r not the only one. I did the same. And i agree with every point in ur review. I also had the same thoughts running thru my head. I was kinda diappointed with emma watson’s job. she cud have done better. But i was pretty happy with harry. especially that scene in which he asks cho out! he is slowly becoming a good actor. Not bad! guess he is a slow learner ;)I also liked ginny’s work in the movie. voldemort was NOTHING like what i imagined him to be. I was quite disappointed with that. I had imagined a different voldemort. i guess movies show only the directors imagination of characters and the scenes. Its kinda sad coz it destroys the rest of ours!gr8 analysis of HP4. u can consider becoming a movie critic. WHAT R U DOING IN LIFE SCIENCES???

Leave a Reply

