Down Memory Lane…

Ever since I came to Singapore, I’ve been listening to nothing but English music. My collection of favourites has been increasing day by day, and with each new song that my friends introduce me to, my knowledge of English songs increases. (This knowledge has been on the rise for 7 years now, but I’m still a rookie…I have a long way to go!!)

But yesterday, I suddenly felt sick listening to the same old songs again and again. I wanted something new. Something fresh. I didn’t get anything new – I ended up with old. Old, beautiful, long forgotten songs. Indian songs. Lovely, irreplacable Indian songs.

I kicked myself for not realizing what I’d been craving for all along. Its been so long since I’ve sung with an open voice. An open heart. Today, I spent my time digging up all my old favourites…(my version of ‘old’ is quite different from what any normal person would expect…I’m young, damn it!! 😉 But then again, when has anything about me been ‘normal’? 😉 ) and walking down memory lane. Every song brought out a different memory, a different feeling. Nostalgia has never felt so good…:D

My current playlist includes songs close to my heart…loads of albums rather than movie songs…hmm, interesting…

Shaan – Tanha Dil, Bhool Ja (god, I loooooove this guy. He’s got a voice to die for…*sigh*)

Euphoria – Maaeri (have always, and will always love this song…)

Strings – Naajane Kyun, Bolo Bolo (damn, these people are gooooooood!!!)

KK – Pal, Yaaron (I can’t seem to get enough of these songs…)

Lucky Ali – Oh Sanam (just looove the hmmm parts…:P )

Rabbi Shergill – Bulla ki Jaana (i find it fascinating to see a Sardar with a guitar…and this particular song ROCKS!)

Aasma – Tumse Hi Pyaar Karna Hai (the guys and girls are brilliant in this song…the blending of voices is just perfect!!)

….and many many many many many other songs that I can’t fit into one post!! Today’s been a great day – I’ve rediscovered both my passion for music and my Indian roots…what else can I ask for?? 😀

10 thoughts on “Down Memory Lane…

  1. Clueless November 25, 2005 / 12:58 am

    #fafs,wow…vishnu sahasranamam, huh?? i have learnt carnatic music for god knows how long, and i havent listened one single classical song since i came here…my mum will kill me :Pthat reminds me…i have a whole getting-back-in-touch-with-carnatic-music session planned when i get back home in the sem hols..should be fun!! thanks for dropping by, fafs…ur comment means a lot!! 😀

  2. Fafs November 22, 2005 / 6:08 pm

    hey anewsha .. guess what i had the same feeling……I went and listened to vishnu sahasranamam.. (no im not very sloka types).. but listening to vishnu sahasranamam gives a lot of confidence when ure down… It really helps esp before exams….I also listen to Ms Subulakshmi songs from smashits.com… she rocks!!!! the LEGEND that she is.. reminds me of my grandmom….I too love yaaron dosti by KK. esp the video…Anewsha i enjoyed reading every bit of ure blog…… keep the same spirit going

  3. Clueless November 21, 2005 / 12:33 am

    #rik,i fell in love with the song the minute i heard it. i think its partly to do with the song itself…the tune and its lyrics…but the other half is just because Shaan knows how to work the song into your heart…just perfect. *sigh*and hey..thanks for visiting. keep coming! 🙂

  4. rik November 20, 2005 / 8:27 pm

    Shaan’s Tanha Dil…has been my all time favorite…Well, thiz rik, Nice bloggingRegards,rik.

  5. Clueless November 20, 2005 / 2:28 pm

    #sayesha,hey!!!! long time no see on the blog! and yep, you’re the first person i think about when it comes to hindi songs…i know how much of a fanatic you are!!! :Dexams…damn, i’d almost managed to forget that i have to cross that huge hurdle before i can go back home…one down, four to go…*sigh*

  6. Sayesha November 20, 2005 / 9:14 am

    Wow, great songs! I think I will DIE without my hindi song collection, I really will. :OHow are exams goin’, babe?

  7. Clueless November 12, 2005 / 7:06 pm

    #macho girl,i agree…indian languages just seem to have that musical feel to them…its a feeling you can’t get from any other type of music…its special! :)#anonymous,we’ll do loads of indian singing sessions together now 🙂 just let the exams get over!! :S#viv,//Some songs just make you feel warm and cozy and I love that.Word. We’ll go CD shopping together in India…will be awesome fun!! 😀

  8. viv November 12, 2005 / 10:47 am

    Once in a while, I feel like just listening to a particular song again and again… Like a few days ago, I listened to “Yuhin chala…” on loop. Some songs just make you feel warm and cozy and I love that. Need to go CD shopping in India.

  9. Anonymous November 10, 2005 / 5:41 pm

    Awwww…if I only knew…I would have sung my heart out with u long before yesterday!!!coz I sooooo love indian music…and ur insanity stuff is cute too !!

  10. Macho Girl November 10, 2005 / 4:47 pm

    Ahh… i know the feeling!!! Its been wonderful for me too! finally getting away from the usual english songs to some nice hindi songs… hindi words seem to be more musical than english to me! i think that has given hindi (and for that matter tamil too) songs a particular quality that you will NEVER find in any english song. It has most certainly been awesome digging out our “old” favourites!!!

Leave a Reply

