Ten reasons why PGP rocks

PGP rocks. Here’s ten reasons why.

It looks good

Nobody who’s seen PGP can deny this. PGP’s got class. I’ve heard people describe it as looking like a five-star hotel, a resort and a condo. I think it’s a mix of all three. With an excellent foyer to complement it, PGP certainly rocks in style!

The foyer

Aah…what can I say about the foyer that hasn’t already been said?? There’s no place like the foyer to hang out and chat with friends till early in the mornings. (Its about the only place in NUS where you can manage to bump into people at 3 in the morning!) No place like the foyer to just sit on the stairs on a rainy day and watch people go about their business. No place like the foyer to meet new people from different countries and cultures. Aah…there’s no place like the foyer.

The gym

PGP’s got its very own personal gym. Its also got its own tennis, badminton, table-tennis and basket ball courts. Need I say more?

The food-court

Admittedly, this is not one of PGP’s strong points. It’s a point, nonetheless. The food’s not great, but its not bad either. The 10 plus stalls offer a variety in food that I’m pretty sure is not available in other halls. (Correct me if I’m wrong, though!!)

The security

Security at PGP is awesome. Transponders that take you only to your particular floor, cluster doors guarding each cluster and heavy room-doors can all be cumbersome when you want to meet a friend at midnight, but it provides an awesome sense of security. For me, security tops the list of things to look for when looking for a place to stay. And PGP offers that.

TV rooms

What more can I say about the wonderful TV rooms of PGP?? Everything that has to be said has been said here. Long live the TV rooms. (And may they never be occupied when I need them!)

Georgie’s Mart

Supermarket inside the residence. Awesome stuff.

Independence

Somehow, living in PGP gives me a sense of independence. I don’t really get the feeling that I’m in a hostel. It feels more like a private residence where I can do what I want, where I want and when I want. It doesn’t have the ‘hostel-y’ feel that I’ve come to detest in recent years.

The people

Some of the coolest people on campus live at PGP. Ahem.

I live here.

(Modesty prevented me from putting this as my top reason. But I guess its worth mentioning…)

Dear PGPites (and non PGPites, if you’re good sports), feel free to add on to the list… 🙂

13 thoughts on “Ten reasons why PGP rocks

  1. lz January 19, 2006 / 11:39 pm

    hey, just had some questions:how much does it cost each month to stay at pgp? is it only available for postgrads or can undergrads stay there as well?thx (:

  2. Clueless November 23, 2005 / 5:12 pm

    #liz,hehe…i know the rest of the halls are awesome. I feel quite jealous of the ppl living in Sheares…its fabulous there!! I was just trying to do some self-pimping…give myself reasons to feel better about staying at PGP, u know..:)

  3. Liz November 23, 2005 / 3:38 pm

    The rest of the halls are quite kewl too:) Its the people that make it special:) Am a graduate from NUS (Batch of 2004)..and stayed at Old KR/New Shears/Extension A and finally PGP:)..Cheers!

  4. Raj November 11, 2005 / 2:16 pm

    k.Of course, i’ve heard of it.

  5. Clueless November 10, 2005 / 9:51 pm

    #raj,this is NUS..National University of Singapore.. heard of it? 🙂

  6. Raj November 10, 2005 / 3:53 pm

    Umm, which college is this? Whats the full name?

  7. puttas September 5, 2005 / 9:52 pm

    PGP ROX because of the people that are in it… I totally second ur article di… keep up the awesome work… sorry for the late comment

  8. Clueless August 29, 2005 / 3:06 pm

    and plus… the hostel-y feeling thing??? i just KNOW…havent u ever been in a situation where u just KNOW something??? without ever having experienced it?? its just one of those things…

  9. Clueless August 29, 2005 / 3:04 pm

    yeah, yeah…of course i’m using it!! whatdya think i am, the laziest person in the world??? (if so, ur quite right, u know…:P)

  10. viv August 29, 2005 / 10:01 am

    // It doesn’t have the ‘hostel-y’ feel that I’ve come to detest in recent years.when did you ever experience this? :PI hope you’re using the gym and badminton courts etc. No point if it’s there but you don’t use it!

  11. Clueless August 28, 2005 / 3:31 pm

    hey macho girl…sorry i forgot the fountain; it didn’t occur to me at that time!! maybe i should replace the tenth point with the fountain thing…but then again, i love myself too much to do that! 😛

  12. Macho Girl August 28, 2005 / 3:26 pm

    I totally agree with the first 9 reasons!!!! PGPR is an awesome place to live in!!! I think u have covered almost all the plus points of this place. WHAT ABOUT MY FAVOURITE WATER FUONTAIN??? U FORGOT THAT!!! except that, i think ur article is gr8 and makes me feel so happy to be a PGP-ite!!! Long live PGP!!!

Leave a Reply

