Did you know?

Ever wondered why people say “Bless you” when you sneeze? There are probably hundreds of reasons, but the two most common ones I’ve heard are

1. When you sneeze, your heart stops for a millisecond. I guess saying “Bless you” is a way of reviving it.

2. In olden days, people believed that when you sneezed, your soul flew out of your body. “Bless you” made it go right back in.

Weird, huh?? Speaking of sneezing, did you know that if you sneeze too hard, you might fracture a rib, and if you try to suppress it, you might rupture a blood vessel in your head or neck and die?? Wow…talk about scary…

Other interesting but potentially useless facts I’ve heard of

On average, more people fear spiders than death.

Wearing earphones for just an hour will increase the bacteria in your ear by 700 times.

The ant always falls over on its right side when intoxicated. (I have no idea who had the patience to actually observe this!)

The cigarette lighter was invented before the match.

In 1987, American Airlines saved $40,000 by eliminating one olive from each salad served in first class.

The heart pumps blood in the body with enough pressure to send it squirting 30 feet.

Coca-Cola was originally green.

I have no idea how many of these facts are really true; I don’t really have the patience to find out. I just think it makes interesting reading!

One thought on “Did you know?

  1. CoMpLiCaTeD January 28, 2006 / 4:46 pm

    hahaha. I have come across these things so often! they get me each time! I don’t really care abt whether or not they are true. They make me laugh anyways! we live in a weird world don’t we?

Leave a Reply

