Su-doku

I’ve been bitten by the Su-doku bug. Infected, more like. It all started when I saw something like a crossword in one of the newspapers one morning. Being a big crossword fan, I eagerly sat down with a pencil to do it, when I realized that it was a number puzzle.

Uh oh.

I’m not a number-person. I don’t feel comforted and reassured by numbers; I’m more a word-person. Numbers are a big no-no with me. Apprehensively, I read the instructions. And found out it wasn’t that bad at all. Quite simple and to the point.

And that’s when it started.

I did my first puzzle in around 15 minutes. And I loved it. And I spread the word. I told everyone in the house. My mum and dad became instant fans. My dad even offered to make me the puzzles on the comp. That day, we spent an entire afternoon trying to come up with a simple rule to make them. Geniuses that we are, we did. Only we took more than 4 hours to do it.

We were elated. Our principle: If you can make ‘em, how hard can it be to solve ‘em? Apparently, quite hard. We got our first taste of a seriously hard puzzle the following week. And that’s when we became die-hard addicts. Now, no matter how hard the puzzle, we don’t let go till we finish. Everything else be damned.

My parents and I have discovered not only a great, engaging number game, but also a unique and fun way to spend quality time with each other. Now that’s what I call family bonding.

7 thoughts on “Su-doku

  1. neo_kryptik November 25, 2005 / 5:13 pm

    by ur comments it seems that u guys hv only been playing the old-vanilla style sudoku. u shud start 16X16 grid sudoku if u havent done it already. its much more time consuming and interesting…than the old 9X9.

  2. Pri July 6, 2005 / 12:09 pm

    yeah! u know what, u’re right! i thought of the same thing after about a week of “su do ku”… now it’s become kind of an involuntary thing… doin’ the puzzle, know what i mean?

  3. Niraja July 5, 2005 / 5:36 pm

    hey! i CANNOT believe u actauuly likethat puzzle too. aint it the gr8st? but the problem is…it’s like the same thing everyday. it gets kinda borin when u do the same kind of puzzle like a million times! and it takes 10 minutes flat. so its not sumthing that occupies one for a long time, if you know what i mean. it’s nice nevertheless.

  4. Clueless June 26, 2005 / 2:32 pm

    wow, pri…u finally joined the ‘comment’ gang!! good going!!!and about the coincidences…i guess that’s why we’ve always been the bestest of friends!!!

  5. pri June 26, 2005 / 2:03 pm

    hey!! me too!! now how many times have we said that to each other?? and,guess what? my parents are also really “into it”!! the fact that my parents also like it makes me all the more excited!! “su do ku” rocks!! BIG TIME!! but…hey!! what is it between us and perfect co incidences… any idea?

  6. Anonymous June 25, 2005 / 11:28 pm

    I knew a guy who used to solve crossword puzzles with me on paheli.comSigh… those were the days…

  7. viv June 25, 2005 / 10:34 am

    I’m sure it must be a lot of fun! It’s good you’ve found an activity that everyone finds so interesting. I miss the days when Dad and I used to sit around doing crossword puzzles on Sundays 🙂

Leave a Reply

